Skip to main content
County Profiles related to Employment and the Workforce
Select "County Analysis" database from the list of EIU websites on the left hand side (you may need to expand this list). Each profile has a "Regulation" tab, which includes a "Human Resources" section. This is where you will find information on the country's labor force, labor law, wage and hour laws, termination laws, and employment-of-foreigners laws. Reports can be downloaded in pdf format. Restricted to RU affiliates.
Bloomberg BNA International HR Decison Support Network
Country Primers (over 56) outline labor force and human resources information needed by HR and labor relations practitioners. This includes labor force data, summaries of laws on benefits, discrimination, compensation, employment contracts, labor relations, right to strike, termination, safety and health. Links to relevant country web sites, plus outside material from the U.S. government and the OECD are useful. Access the database from the Carey Library or with a username and password obtained from the librarian. (Off-campus access limited to SMLR graduate students.)
The World Factbook (CIA)
These profiles of foreign countries will not tell you about their employment relations, but they will give you background on geography, economics, people and society, and "transnational issues", i.e., problems with other countries, which are often labor-related.
U.S. State Department
See "Countries & Regions" for reports on countries, including "Background Notes". No labor relations information here; basics on government, economy, history, people.
Global Country Guides (SHRM, for members only)
SHRM offers Global Country Guides that focus on business protocol customs in over 60 countries. You must be a SHRM member to access the guides. The sources of these guides is a consulting company called Aperian Global.
CountryWatch.com provides profiles and news on 192 countries; it covers the country's history, politics, economics, culture, and environmental status through a combination of description and data. This is a source for basic country information, not HR or labor information. For Rutgers affiliates only.
Global Business Etiquette
International & Comparative Workforce: Web Resources
Doing Business (World Bank)
Doing Business publishes research about 183 economies. Among these are papers about worker employment, labor regulations, employment protections, employment growth, employment contracts, employee/employer relations, labor markets, and more.
Eurofound, the European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions, is one of the first European Union bodies to be established to work in specialized areas of EU policy. Specifically, it was set up to contribute to the planning and design of better living and working conditions in Europe.
EUROPA-The Official Website of the European Union
The official website of the European Union. EUROPA includes information about European Union employment policy, publications with articles on the subjects of labor and employment, and statistics concerning labor and employment.
International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU)
The International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU), has 241 affiliated organizations in 156 countries and territories with a membership of 155 million. The five main ICFTU priorities are: employment and international labor standards; tackling the multinationals; trade union rights; equality, women, race and migrants; trade union organization and recruitment. It's publications contain papers about these prioritized areas
International Labor Communications Association (ILCA)
ILCA is the professional organization for labor journalists & communicators in North America.
ILO: International Labour Organization
The International Labour Organization (ILO) is devoted to advancing opportunities people to obtain decent and productive work in conditions of freedom, equity, security and human dignity. Its main aims are to promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue in handling work-related issues.
Labour Force Surveys (ILO)
Surveys of work-related statistics from individual countries. Surveys vary, according to what data is collected by each country.
OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OECD brings together governments to: support sustainable economic growth, boost employment, raise living standards, maintain financial stability, assist other countries' economic development, and contribute to growth in world trade. The Organisation provides a setting where governments compare policy experiences, seek answers to common problems, identify good practice, and coordinate domestic and international policies.
World Federation of Trade Unions
The World Federation of Trade Unions website provides an overview of issues affecting trade unions in the world.
The on-line catalogue of the Documentation Centre of the European Trade Union Institute - ETUI. Labourline contains more than 52,000 references in both printed and electronic format related to the world of labour, in particular industrial relations, socio-economic issues, trade unionism and occupational health and safety.
European Trade Union Institute (ETUI)
an international non profit-making Association.
It has three main objectives: (1) conducting research, producing studies and monitoring European issues of strategic importance for the world of labour; (2) promoting education and training activities, that strengthen a European Trade Union identity; (3) providing technical support in the field of occupational health, safety.
Information on the national background to industrial relations and statutory corporate worker decision-making in each of the 27 EU member states.
Employing Workers (World Bank)
Part of the "Doing Business" web site, this data set is "a summary of the regulation of employment in this economy, specifically as it affects the hiring and redundancy of workers and the rigidity of working hours".
Global HR (SHRM)
News and articles about HR and employment practices in foreign countries. Some items are free, some require membership.