Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English 201 Research in the Disciplines: SEARCHING FOR
JOURNAL ARTICLES

This guide provides an overview of library resources and services for students enrolled in English 201.

About this page

Once you have selected a topic and made a list of keywords you are finally ready to begin looking for articles. Here are the key activities on this page:

  • Watch the videos.
  • Click on the subject terms listed below and view a few of the more common databases used at Rutgers. It is a good idea to start searching with a multidisciplinary database before you begin searching specific subject databases. Keep in mind that many topics will cross multiple subject headings.
  • Complete the Activity; "How much do you know about searching for articles."

Activity - How much do you know about searching for articles

Adobe Flash Player is required for viewig the following file.

Multidisciplinary Databases

General Science Indexes

Agriculture/Biology/Environmental Science Indexes

Anthropology

Art/Dance/Music Indexes

Business/Economics Indexes

Communication & Mass Media Indexes

Criminal Justice/Law/Political Science

Education Index

Engineering/Technology Indexes

Ethics

Fashion

Film

History Indexes

Literature Indexes

Medicine/Sports and Related Indexes

Nutrition

Philosophy/Religion Indexes

Psychology Index

Social Work Indexes

Sociology Indexes

Women's and Gender Studies Indexes

Where do I find scholarly articles?

While it is possible to find some scholarly articles on the Internet using a search engine such as Google, many scholarly articles are not freely available to the public. The Libraries subscribe to many Indexes and Databases that contain scholarly articles.

Details on how to search Indexes and Databases can be found in the section, "Searching for Journal Articles." Just as not every item in a scholarly journal is scholarly, not everything in an Index or Database is scholarly. Some of the databases, such as those provided by the vendor EBSCOhost allow you to limit your search results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

How to read scholarly materials

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.