Skip to main content
GLBTQ.com: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
Online encyclopedia of 2,000 signed articles on literature, the arts, and the social sciences written by academics and other experts.
People with a History
People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force: Reports & Research
The Task Force's Policy Institute conducts groundbreaking research and policy analysis on hot-button issues affecting the LGBT community. Research reports, issue maps, fact sheets, and more.
Human Rights Campaign (HRC)
HRC seeks to improve the lives of LGBT Americans by advocating for equal rights and benefits in the workplace, ensuring families are treated equally under the law and increasing public support among all Americans through innovative advocacy, education and outreach programs.
The Equality Forum
Equality Forum coordinates LGBT History Month, produces documentary films, undertakes high-impact initiatives and presents the largest annual national and international LGBT civil rights summit.
LGBT History Month
The Philadelphia-based group Equality Forum provides content, promotion, and resources for LGBT History Month - which is October.
The It Gets Better Project
The It Gets Better Project has become a worldwide movement, inspiring more than 50,000 user-created videos viewed more than 50 million times. To date, the project has received submissions from celebrities, organizations, activists, politicians and media personalities
LGBTQ Archives and Special Collections
William Way Community Center (Philadelphia)
The archive features Philadelphia 's most extensive collection of rare books, periodicals, video and audio tapes, periodicals, personal correspondence, and other ephemera documenting the rich history of our LGBT community. With over 10,000 books available, their library contains one of the nation's largest collections of LGBT-related fiction and non-fiction.
The Barbara Gittings Gay/Lesbian Collection At The Free Library of Philadelphia
The Gittings Collection, the second largest (after San Francisco Public Library) gay and lesbian collection in a public library, takes up an entire wall near the front entrance of the Independence Branch of the Free Library of Philadelphia. The Gittings Collection features over 1500 items including books, music, DVDs, audiobooks, and periodicals.
Lesbian Herstory Archives (NYC)
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives."
International Gay Information Center Collection at the NYPL
The collection documents the gay liberation movement in New York City and America from the 1950s to the 1980s. Included are records of the Gay Activists Alliance, the Gay Alliance of Brooklyn, Gay Switchboard of New York, the Mattachine Society Inc. of New York, and records of miscellaneous organizations including Christopher Street That New Magazine, Inc., and the periodicals Gaysweek, and New York Native. Includes personal papers and audiovisual material (radio and television programs).
Gay and Lesbian and AIDS/HIV Collections at NYPL
The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic.
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Community Center (NYC)
Founded, and coordinated, in 1990 by volunteer archivist Rich Wandel, the collection includes thousands of papers, periodicals, correspondence, and photographs donated by lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and organizations.
Cornell University's Human Sexuality Collection
Cornell University's Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography.
Gerber/Hart Library and Archives (Chicago)
The Gerber/Hart archives and special collections include the papers of individuals, organizations, and businesses in Chicago, Illinois, early periodicals and histories, and ephemera such as T-shirts, buttons, and posters. The library's general collections explore not only LGBT histories and cultures, but also specific aspects of relationships, health issues, occupational and workplace concerns, financial matters, educational environments, spirituality and religious issues, and family and parenting concerns of LGBT people.
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active LGBTQ organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. The collections at ONE Archives are a part of the University of Southern California Libraries.