Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Social Welfare Policy and Services II: Law and Legislation

New Jersey Legislation

New Jersey Legislature Home Page
Includes legislative bills with histories back to 1996; the New Jersey State Constitution; a searchable index to New Jersey Statutes; legislative reports; and transcripts of some public hearings

Aging Populations

Older Americans Act and Aging Network. From the Administration on Aging.

Child Welfare

Major Federal Legislation Concerned with Child Protection, Child Welfare, and Adoption. The Children's Bureau, April 2012. A summary of Federal legislation since 1974 that has had a significant impact on the field. Includes an overview of each act and its major provisions. The full text of the acts can be found on Information Gateway’s Index of Child Welfare Laws

Violence Against Women

Violence Against Women - Federal Legislation and Regulations. From the Justice Department's Office on Violence Against Women.

Education

Policy Overview. Legislation, regulations, guidance, and other policy documents for the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, No Child Left Behind, and other education programs. From the U.S. Department of Education.

Analysis of State Bullying Laws and Policies. 2011.

Education Commission of the States Policy Analysis Topics and Documents.

CQ Almanac

CQ Almanac Online
Narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that the U.S. Congress considered during a congressional session between 1945 and 2014. Policy Tracker feature allows you to explore a specific policy topic (e.g., "Abortion and Family Planning;" "Bilingual Education and ESL;" "Homelessness;" etc.,) over time. Rutgers-restricted Access

Federal Legislative History Research

Researching Federal Legislative History
Rachel Compton. 2010.
A nice introduction to the process.
Federal Legislative History Research: A Practitioner's Guide to Compiling the Documents and Sifting for Legislative Intent
Richard J. McKinney and Ellen A. Sweet. Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C., Revised January, 2008.
Includes discussion of what federal legislative histories are and how they are used; the federal legislative process; and finding legislative histories.
Legislative Histories of Selected U.S. Laws on the Internet: Free Sources
Legislative Histories of U.S. Laws on the Internet: Commercial Sources
Lists legislative histories available on HeinOnline, as well as WestLaw (not WestLaw Campus) and Lexis-Nexis.

Law and Legislation Databases

HeinOnline
A legal research collection. In addition to searching scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals, HeinOnline collections include the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register Library, and the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library. Rutgers-restricted Access
WestlawNext
Includes law review and law journal articles, the full text of court opinions; statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; a law encyclopedia, and Black's Law Dictionary. Rutgers-restricted Access

Congressional Documents

Congress.gov
Browse or search legislation from the 93d (1973) Congress to the present. You can also search the full text of the Congressional Record from the 101st (1989) Congress to the present, and browse or search the full text of House and Senate committee reports from the 104th (1995) Congress to the present.
Congressional Publications
Historical and current Congressional information and legislative publications. Committee Prints, House & Senate Reports, House & Senate Documents, 1970-present; Hearings, 1824-2003, complete hearing - 2004-present, selected testimony transcripts and submitted statements, and in some cases, entire published hearings; Legislative Histories, 1969-present. Rutgers-restricted Access
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
A full-text database of key publications of the United States Congress. It documents the official activities of the committees of the House and the Senate, including the journals, reports, and documents. Rutgers-restricted Access

Don't Know the "Official" Name?

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.