Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rutgers Business Research Guides
Business Databases: Quick Guide
Excellent overview, organized by aspect of business.
This guide includes links to all guides for aspects of business and types of resources.
This guide will lead to many sources of industry data and reports from Rutgers-restricted library databases, the U.S. federal government as well as commercial firms, trade associations, and non-profit organizations.
With Starting Points and details on use of many databases and web sites, this fills in all the details.
Business Research Resources
Hoover's Company Profiles in Westlaw Campus Research
Once in the WestlawNext database, click on News in the 3rd column on the right, then at the far right outside the box under TOOLS and RESOURSES click on Hoover's Company Profiles, then in the upper left menu again click on Hoover's Company Profiles. For visual help with this see Hoover's Tutorial as powerpoint or pdf in the box to the left.
MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor 360)
Start with MarketLine for company profiles, SWOT analyses, financial deals, and market share.
Business Source Premier
For articles on all aspects of business: topics, companies or industries which may be in trade journals as well as scholarly peer reviewed journals. This database also includes many Datamonitor reports all of which you can also find in MarketLine.
This has in-depth industry overview reports, as well as some for major companies. Mostly US, though some international.
Offers demographic, product and industry market research reports covering US and international marketplaces which combine data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Original research reports compiled by Mintel, with selected data from consumer survey research firms such as Simmons National Consumer Surveys and Harris Interactive, as well as retail sales figures from Information Resources, Inc. and trade associations.
Easy, graphic approach to demographic data. You can download data tables behind the graphics.
Accounting Research Manager
This single, searchable comprehensive database of accounting and auditing information includes primary source material from:
FASB (Financial Accounting Standards Board)
AICPA (American Institute of Chartered Public Accountants)
IASB (International Accounting Standards Board)
PCAOB (Public Company Accounting Oversight Board)
SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) and more.
CCH's editorial team is responsible for the interpretative documents
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Use this index to find general, popular and other subject area scholarly articles on a topic, business, industry, issue, etc. About half, like in Business Source Premier, are fulltext in the database. Rutgers owns most others, which you can get to with GetIt@R button.