Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

History and College Life : Finding Books and Media

This guide presents select resources on Douglass and Rutgers Colleges' history. Originally created for the History and College Life seminar taught by Prof. Nancy Hewitt, Fall '12. .

Electronic Encyclopedias

These are sample electronic encyclopedia titles. The complete list in our collection is available here

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society

Encyclopedia of New Jersey  (Click on the electronic access link). Print version available at Alexander and Douglass libraries. Call # REF F132.E52 2004

When you are off campus, you need to log in using net id/password. Instruction on how to connect is here

Alexander Library Reference Desk

The reference desks at Rutgers Libraries are staffed with librarians and research assistants who are pleased to assist with your research. Alexander Library hours of operation and telephone are as follows:

  • Telephone:   848-932-7509
  • Hours: Mon-Thu 10AM-9PM, Fri 10AM-5PM, Sat 1-6PM. Sun Noon-9PM.       

For information on other reference desks telephone and hours, click here

Finding Books and Media

Search the Library Catalog for the following items in our collection :

  • Books, e-books, journal titles (such as American Historical Review, NOT journal articles published in the AHR), films, videos, newspapers, archival collections, etc. 

Search WorldCat (OCLC)[Rutgers restricted] to verify titles that exist, but NOT in Rutgers collection. It is an excellent source for verifying a title and holdings information. 

E-Z Borrow. Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium (PALCI). Use this service when the title you wish is checked out, or when Rutgers does not own it. The requested material usually comes in in about 5 days. If the book is NOT available in E-Z Borrow, try the Interlibrary Loan Services

Media Center

The Media Center located at Douglass Library is the repository of the media material on New Brunswick Campus. Undergraduate students can view films on site. The video viewing rooms at Media Center can be used either individually or by small groups (max.8). Contact the Media Center or more information on the collection or the viewing rooms.  

  • Telehone: 848-932-9783. 
  • Hours: Mon-Thu 8:30AM-11PM, Fri 8:30Am-9PM, Sat 10AM-6PM, Sun Noon-11PM

Fordham Lab

The Sharon Fordham Multimedia Lab is based at Douglass Library.

It is open to all Rutgers students, faculty and staff. It is equipped with Macintosh computers with audio, image and video editing softwares.

  • Telephone: 848-932-5003.
  • Hours: Mon-Thu 8:30AM-11PM, Fri 8:30AM-9PM, Sat 10AM-6PM, Sun Noon-11PM

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.