Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

History and College Life : Indexes and Databases

This guide presents select resources on Douglass and Rutgers Colleges' history. Originally created for the History and College Life seminar taught by Prof. Nancy Hewitt, Fall '12. .

Indexes and Databases

To find the appropriate subject indexes to search for articles on your topic, click here.  To use the databases off campus, you need to log in. Follow the directrions on How to connect off campus.  

Recommended databases for some of the themes in the guide:

Check out these databases with streamed media and search for "civil rights" and "women's rights":

 

Advanced Search Strategies

One of the more commonly practiced advanced search strategies is Boolean searching using operators "AND" and "OR".

  • Use "AND" between search terms to retrieve fewer results (i.e., to narrow down your search) and find only articles that include all of the terms specified.
  • Use "OR" to retrieve move results (i.e., broaden your search results) and find articles that include any of the terms specified. Using synonyms or similar words separated by "OR"may also help expand your search. 

Interlibrary Loan and Article Deliver Services

When the article you need is not available or accessible, try our interlibrary loan or article deliver service. To request this service, click here and sign in with your net id/password and copy and paste your citation. 

Alexander Library Reference Desk

The reference desks at Rutgers Libraries are staffed with librarians and research assistants who are pleased to assist with your research. Alexander Library hours of operation and telephone are as follows:

  • Telephone:   848-932-7509
  • Hours: Mon-Thu 10AM-9PM, Fri 10AM-5PM, Sat 1-6PM. Sun Noon-9PM.       

For information on other reference desks telephone and hours, click here