This guide is designed to help you find resources applicable to History College Life.
Please feel free to contact me if you would like research assistance. My contact information is in the far right-hand box.
The contact information for Tom Frusciano, University Archivist, and Tom Glynn, Anglo American Librarian:
Tom Frusciano SC/UA, Alexander Library.
Tel: 848-932-6149. Email: email@example.com.
Tom Glynn Alexander Library.
Tel: 848-932-6105. Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Special Collections and University Archives (SC/UA) collects and preserves published and unpublished material that documents various aspects of University and New Jersey history. In addition to primary sources, SC/UA also have a wealth of secondary source materials. The collection includes resources in various formats including photographs, manuscripts, documents, rare books, recordings, etc. SC/UA also maintains the records management program for all records generated by the University, thereby serves as the University's archival repository.
The SC/UA's telephone and hours:
In addition, Douglass Library has vertical files with material publshed by campus organizations and other sources. To inquire and use Douglass Women's File contact Kayo Denda (email@example.com).
The above collections do not circulate. You will be asked to use the collection on site.
Primary Sources are the raw materials of history. They are original documents or creative works generated during the time period under study. Often, but not always, primary sources contain or demonstrate the perspective of its creator as in a diary or a letter. However, documents and reports from governments or organizations, such as universities, are also primary sources as they express institutional viewpoints on issues grounded in a historical period. Now many digital collections of primary sources are available on the Web as digitized documents, openly accessible or as a subscription.
Examples of Primary Sources:
(based on U. of Kentucky Libraries Special Collections resources)
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: firstname.lastname@example.org or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.