Landscape Architecture--United States
Landscape Architecture--Pictorial Works
Urban landscape architecture
Landscape architecture involves the design of outdoor public spaces, landmarks, and structures to achieve environmental, social, or aesthetic outcomes. This guide can help students in the Department of Landscape Architecture with researching subjects such as site planning and design, computer-aided design, architecture, horticulture, and plant ecology.
First check resources in the Find Articles tab of this LibGuide, and then return here for more specific materials.
CAB Abstracts: Peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, conference proceedings for in animal and veterinary sciences, plant sciences, agriculture, and more.
Agricola: Covers all aspects of agriculture including agronomy, botany, chemistry, crop management, ecology, farm management, fertilizers, forestry, horticulture, pesticides, plants science, soil science, and water quality.
Ecology Abstracts: Indexes articles on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Subject areas include evolutionary biology, pollution, erosion, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems of the environment.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
Environment Abstracts: Provides abstracts for more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. Covers landscape architecture.
Sustainability Science Abstracts: Provides abstracts of articles on sustainable development, conservation, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Plant Science: A bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.
GreenFILE: Interdisciplinary database that deals with connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, policy, health and technology.
Turfgrass Information File: The Turfgrass Information Center (TIC) at Michigan State University contains the most comprehensive collection of turfgrass educational materials publicly available in the world. The TIC has over 135,000 records in its primary database.
Business Source Premier: Provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources. Covers landscape architecture.
JSTOR: Provides electronic access to back runs of more than 400 important scholarly journals, including subjects relating to landscape architecture.
Web of Science: Multidisciplinary index of abstracts and citations. Includes areas of natural resources, agriculture, and more.
Digital Sanborn Maps: New Jersey: This is a collection of 1237 large-scale maps of 265 New Jersey cities. The maps include information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape, and construction materials, heights, and location of windows and doors.
Historical Maps of New Jersey: Most of the maps on this website are from Rutgers Special Collections at Alexander Library. The site has images of historical maps, maps series that show the changing landscape of NJ, images from the 1872 Atlas of New Jersey, and links to other historical map collections.
Official Website for the State of New Jersey: NJ Maps: This site contains a geological map of NJ, state and county maps, and links to the New Jersey Geographic Information Network and related sites.
New Jersey Office of GIS: This site shows how GIS (Geographic Information Systems) works to solve problems and support decision-making.
Rutgers Center for Remote Sensing and Spatial Analysis: State-of-the-art facility for remote sensing and GIS teaching and research.
US Census Bureau: A great source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Library of Congress Map Collections: The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items. The focus of the Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are not covered by copyright protection.
Public places, urban spaces : the dimensions of urban design / Mathew [i.e. Matthew] Carmona ... [et al.]. 2nd ed.
ALEX STACKS HT166.P813 2010
A dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture / James Stevens Curl. 2nd ed. Oxford [England]
ART REF NA31.C864 2006
Manufactured sites : rethinking the post-industrial landscape / edited by Niall Kirkwood.
ALEX STACKS HT170.M328 2001
The Penguin dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture / John Fleming, Hugh Honour, Nikolaus Pevsner.
ART REF NA31.F55 1998
Landscape architecture sourcebook : a guide to resources on the history and practice of landscape architecture in the United States / edited by Diana Vogelsong.
ART REF SB470.53.L36 1997
Landscape architecture : an illustrated history in timelines, site plans, and biography / William A. Mann.
CHANG STACKS SB470.5.M37 1993
Time-saver standards for landscape architecture : design and construction data / coeditors, Charles W. Harris, Nicholas T. Dines ; assistant editor, Gary M. Fishbeck ; consulting editor, Albert Fein ; with a foreword by Hideo Sasaki.
CHANG REF SB475.9.S72T55 1988
Architecture and women : a bibliography documenting women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural critics and writers, and women in related fields working in the United States / Lamia Doumato.
ART and DOUGLASS REF NA2543.W65D6886 1988
Bibliography of landscape architecture, environmental design, and planning / by Antoinette Paris Powell.
ART REF SB472.P67 1987, ALEX STACKS Z5996.A1P67 1987, CHANG STACKS SB472.P67 1987
Photo credit: epSos.de
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: firstname.lastname@example.org or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.