Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Major Art History Indexes
Academic Search Premier
OFFERS FULL TEXT. Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
The links on this page go to databases that contain information about art history articles, books, catalogs, and more! (For help using the indexes, click on the "i" next to each name.)
A lot of databases offer full text of articles; however, if a database indexes citations or abstracts but not full text, you may not have instant access to the whole article. However, you can click on the Get It @ R button to see if Rutgers has it on another database or at the library.
Access World News
OFFERS FULL TEXT. Use Access World News to look up news articles about recent developments in art and art history.
Humanities Full Text
OFFERS FULL TEXT. Also images, abstracts, and bibliographic citations for noted scholarly resources as well as specialized magazines in the humanities. Includes archaeology, art and photography, classical studies, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, etc.
OFFERS FULL TEXT. JSTOR provides electronic access to of back runs of more than 400 important scholarly journals. Includes Art, Architecture and Art History, among many others topics. Click on the "Browse" option in the top menu bar for an alphabetical list of journals.
Alexander Street Video- Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is a collection of 21 cross-searchable video databases covering a broad range of disciplines. Included are more than 13,000 videos.
Specialized Art History Indexes
The following indexes focus on more specific areas of art history, or on areas that compliment or aid the study of art history.
(For help using th e indexes, click on the "i" next to each name.)