1. Put quotes ("") around multiple words to search as a phrase rather than individual words. Good for finding exact quotations.
Example: ["In one of its panels a very singular figure riveted my whole attention."]
2. Use a star (*) for wildcard searching, which finds multiple endings of a single word.
Example: [paint*] finds paint, paints, painter, painting, etc.
3. Use minus sign (-) to eliminate word or term from search.
Example: [jaguar speed -car] finds information on the animal
4. Add the term "site:" to limit searching to a single website or domain.
Example1 : [futurism site:metmuseum.org] searches only the Met's website
Example 2: [futurism site:.edu] searches only university websites
5. Find more search box tips here.
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Some content is available in full text.
Be sure to access Google Scholar through an RU campus computer or from the list of Indexes and Databases on the RU Libraries website (or click here). This way you will get instant access to full text resources that are available from Rutgers University Libraries-subscribed databases or electronic journals.
When you are looking for an article, search by author, title, or subject, same as you would in a library catalog, or search by keyword like you would in Google, using all of the tips in the box next to this one. After a search, you can filter your results by manipulating the options on the left side of the screen, for example date range and relevance. On the right side of the screen you will see what the availablity is of each result in your list. If the full-text of an article is available via open-access or through the university, a link will be made available. If there is no link, then only the bibiliography is available, and you will want to search the Rutgers catalog or Interlibrary Loan if you want to pursue the item.
For additional options to locate articles, click on the Find Articles tab on this LibGuide.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: firstname.lastname@example.org or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.