Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

America in the 1960s: Reference Books

Designed to accompany Dr. Golden's History Perspectives class.

Reference Books in the Paul Robeson Library

Reference Works

General

Encyclopedia of the Sixties / REF E 169.12 E515 2012
The 1960s Counterculture in America / REF E 169.02 H3515 1997
Historical Dictionary of the 1960s / REF E 841 H58 1999
Sixties in Ameria / REF E 841 S55 1999
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War / REF DS 557.7 E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture / REF E 169.12 E49 2001
Guide to U.S. Popular Culture / REF E 169.1 D399 2001
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture / REF E 169.1 S764 2000
Encyclopedia of American Social History / REF HN 57 E58 1993 
War and American Popular Culture / REF E 181 W26 1999 
Handbook of American Popular Culture / REF E 169.1 H2643 1989
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century / REF E 740.7 E53 1996
Fashion and Merchandising Fads / REF E 169.12 H634 1994
Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925 - 2007 / REF PN 1992.3 U5T463 2009
Magill's Survey of Cinema / REF PN 1995 M3 1981

Chronologies

American Decades, 1960-1969 / REF E 169.12 A419 1994 v. 7
American Chronicle / REF E 169.1 G664 1999
Chronology of World History, 1910-1998 / REF D 11 M39 1999 v. 4
Chronology of African-American History / REF E 185 H64 1991
Milestones:  A Chronology of American Women's History / REF HQ 1410 W434 1997

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.