Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Democracy & Literacy (26:606:506): Finding Full Text

This guide accompanies a graduate course in Liberal Studies on the Newark Campus.

The Google Scholar Advantage

Using Google Scholar as a Rutgers database can offer advantages when looking for the full text of known articles.  Google Scholar frequently offers links to Full Text@Rutgers or another PDF if the item is available on the open Web.  In addition, Google Scholar will search standard periodical title abbreviations, such as those used in Medline or PubMed (Index Medicus format), which other databases usually will not.

 

Use the Advanced Scholar Search to look for your article.  If searching author name, use just the last name to avoid problems with variant initials and so forth.  One efficient search is

author last name plus exact phrase searching,

in which you can use some exact phrase from the title of the article.  Here is an example:

Putnam "Bowling Alone"

You can also specify journal name and date if you wish.

 

Each item now has a "cite" link, which offers the reference in MLA, APA, or Chicago style. References from Google Scholar can also be exported into RefWorksEndNote, or another citation manager if you change the settings for the browser you are using.

Ways to Find Full Text Articles

 

1.      The article is linked to full text in your database.  ("The 1-click solution.")

2.      Click on Get it @ R to search for the article in Rutgers resources automatically.  (If Get It @ R sends you directly to the article, it is "the 2-click solution."  If you end up at an intermediate screen, click on one of the options, such as SEARCH THE LIBRARY CATALOG BY PERIODICAL TITLE or REQUEST THIS ARTICLE VIA INTERLIBRARY LOAN.)

3.      Try the JOURNAL TITLE  in the QuickSearch box at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu.

4.      Use the Rutgers version of Google Scholar, which has links to full text owned by Rutgers.

6.      Can't find the article anywhere at Rutgers?  Go to ILLIAD and use the ARTICLE REQUEST form to obtain the article via interlibrary loan.

Subject Librarian

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Contact:
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton@rutgers.edu
Website

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.