Skip to main content
Find Articles in Online Indexes and Databases - Broad Coverage
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed for academic institutions. Although it contains less business-oriented titles than Business Source Premier (see below), it is useful when the researcher is targeting academic studies from the most important peer-reviewed journals. Rutgers Restricted Access
The following online indexes and databases can be searched to find articles:
Business Source Premier
A database that covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration. It contains full-text (or abstracts) of articles from scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. RU Restricted.
Factiva is the primary news database, containing articles from 8,000 leading business newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television/radio transcripts. Rutgers Restricted Access.
PAIS International and Archive
PAIS indexes articles, books, and reports on public policy and international affairs. Publications are from over 120 countries throughout the world.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. RU Restricted.
Web of Science (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes)
Web of Science is an enhanced web version of Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, including the Social Sciences Citation Index. It can be used for citation and subject searching. Useful for interdisciplinary research. Citations only.
Westlaw Campus Research
Primarily useful for legal research, Westlaw can also be used to research news and business topics. Includes Hoovers Company Records and a searchable database of SEC filings. RU Restricted.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations with abstracts of articles from more than 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields. RU Restricted.
Find Articles in Indexes and Databases - Specific Coverage
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage from 1990.
Hispanic-American Periodicals Index
HAPI contains bibliographic citations and full text from social sciences and humanities journals published in the U.S. and Latin America.
A comprehensive source of information on leftist and radical media,
Women and Social Movements in the United States
This database seeks to document women's activism in public life by bringing together books, images, documents (including primary documents), scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, and links to other websites.
SMLR Subscription Databases
Access to these resources is restricted to researchers working in the Carey/SMLR Library and SMLR graduate students and faculty. They focus on current human resource management and labor relations news, law, and practice. For more information, contact the Carey Library, 732-932-9513.
BNA International HR Decision Support Network
Coverage of HR law and practices in foreign countries includes Country Primers, Strategic White Papers. and current news.
BNA Labor and Employment Law Library
A database of cases and laws on fair employment, individual employment rights, disabilities, wages and hours, labor-management relations, collective bargaining, and labor arbitration.
BNA Workplace Immigration Report
Original reporting on workplace immigration news, federal and state legislation and regulations, and immigration enforcement actions in various industries.