Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

RU Ready: Public Services Health Track: Finding Articles

Career planning in health care occupations

Best Bets for Finding Articles

For JerseyClicks databases:  Go to jerseyclicks.org.  If off-campus, sign in with your public library barcode.  Select the database you want.  For frustration-free searching, limit searches to full text.  JerseyClicks is brought to you by the New Jersey State Library.

 

I.  Management and Public Policy

  • Business Source Elite (JerseyClicks version) -- Full text for many scholarly journals in public administration and nonprofit management

II.  Education

  • ERIC (JerseyClicks version) -- Indexes periodical articles and reports for educators; includes educational administration
  • ERIC (Free online) -- Source for many full-text education reports

III. Grantsmanship

  • Foundation Center Search Page -- Free search tools about charities, nonprofits, and foundations from the Foundation Center in New York
  • Grantspace -- Grant how-to's from the Foundation Center.  Many items are completely free of charge.

IV. Health Care

  • Nursing Resource Center (JerseyClicks) -- Professional literature for nurses and other health care personnel
  • Health Source:  Consumer Edition (JerseyClicks) -- Health information for the public
  • MedlinePlus -- Consumer health information vetted by health professionals from the US Government
  • PubMed (Free online) -- Public version of the MEDLINE indexing/abstracting database.  Little full text, but some free articles

VI. Social Sciences and Social Problems

  • Academic Search Premier (JerseyClicks) -- Covers many different subjects; indexes both scholarly and non-scholarly items.  Can limit to scholarly and full-text.
  • PolicyMap (trial version) -- Online data and mapping application; includes data on real estate as well as loads of government data.  Sign up for a seven-day free trial.
  • Social Science Research Network -- Open site for scholarly papers in numerous areas of the social sciences and humanities, including economics, entrepreneurship, leadership, management, and political science.  Free registration required.

VII. Transportation

VIII. A Little of Everything

  • Google Scholar (Open version)  -- Extensive index to scholarly material in just about any subject.  Some items available free in full text.
  • Academic Search Premier (JerseyClicks) -- Covers many different subjects; indexes both scholarly and non-scholarly items.  Can limit to scholarly and full-text.
  • Rutgers Alumni Databases Guide by Natalie Borisovets -- List of free databases on the Internet that allow you to go deeper than the "once over lightly" of general search engines.  Includes many subjects.

 


Advanced Google Searches

Subject Librarian

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Contact:
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
Interim Nursing Librarian
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton@rutgers.edu
Website

Teaching Librarian

 

Erleen Harris

has taught students from elementary school to adult learners.  She has a B.A. from Brooklyn College, CUNY, an M.L.S. from Pratt Institute, and an M.S. in School Administration from Touro College.

eharris1@rutgers.edu

twitter.com/gedinstruc

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.