Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: Waiting for an Angel by Helon Habila (21:355:102): Find Articles

This course guide was specifically created for Instructor Essence Ward's Spring 2012 section 7 ENG 102 class.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

Rutgers Libraries Toolbar

The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox extension (or add-on) that:

  • provides a drop-down menu to library resources
  • embeds library links on popular Websites such as Amazon.com
  • offers special functionality when you highlight terms on a Website and right-click over them with your mouse
  • allows linking from ISBNs, ISSNs, PubMed IDs, and DOIs to Rutgers-restricted online resources
  • is easy to install and easy to use

For more information, click on the link below:

(a) Searching for articles

searching for articles

(a) How do I request an article?

Introduction to Online Resources

To search for articles on your topic, start with one of the Rutgers University Libraries subscription databases.  Depending on your topic, there may be a number of helpful online resources.  This guide identifies a few suggested ones (out of the hundreds of possible online resources available) from which you might be able to find relevant articles.  Please see the sub-page of this section for more information about how to locate the full-text of articles.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Search Tips:

 

1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following "SU Subject Term" to be very helpful:

·  feminist literary criticism (SU Subject Terms)

 

2)  Consider combining different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·  psychology (SU Subject Terms) AND political persecution (SU Subject Terms)

·  Nigeria (SU Subject Terms) AND "freedom of the press" (SU Subject Terms)

·  psychology (SU Subject Terms) AND poverty (SU Subject Terms)

·  Nigeria (SU Subject Terms) AND ["substance abuse" or "drug abuse" or alcoholism] (SU Subject Terms)


Social Science databases

If your topic is related to the social sciences, such as psychology, sociology, or political sciences, consider looking for information within these databases:

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.