Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: Bartleby, The Scrivener: A Story of Wall Street by Herman Melville (21:355:102): English Literature Research

This course guide was specifically created for Instructor Salome Blignaut's Spring 2012 section 33 ENG 102 class.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

Rutgers Libraries Toolbar

The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox extension (or add-on) that:

  • provides a drop-down menu to library resources
  • embeds library links on popular Websites such as Amazon.com
  • offers special functionality when you highlight terms on a Website and right-click over them with your mouse
  • allows linking from ISBNs, ISSNs, PubMed IDs, and DOIs to Rutgers-restricted online resources
  • is easy to install and easy to use

For more information, click on the link below:

(a) Searching for articles

searching for articles

(a) How do I request an article?

English Literature Research

Please see the boxes below for several databases in which you may search for literary criticism, as well as for topics related to English literature.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography includes 2 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.  It covers criticism and scholarship on literature from around the world.

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects-All" terms to be very helpful:

·         Bartleby

·         Melville, Herman

·         Emerson

·         transcendentalism

·         depression


2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         Bartleby (SU Subjects-All) AND Melville, Herman (SU Subjects-All)

·         Bartleby (SU Subjects-All) AND Emerson (SU Subjects-All)

·         Bartleby (SU Subjects-All) AND transcenden* (TX All Text)

·         Bartleby (SU Subjects-All) AND depress* (TX All Text)


Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that includes almost 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, over 253,000 author biographies, and 35,000 plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews.

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects" terms to be very helpful:

·         Bartleby

·         Melville, Herman

·         Emerson

·         transcendentalism

·         mental depression


2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         Bartleby (SU Subjects) AND Melville, Herman (SU Subjects)

·         Bartleby (SU Subjects) AND Emerson (SU Subjects)

·         Bartleby (SU Subjects) AND transcenden* (TX All Text)

·         Bartleby (SU Subjects) AND depress* (TX All Text)



Literature Resource Center (LRC)

Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a full-text database covering more than 124,000 authors.  In addition to critical analysis of authors and their works, biographies and bibliographies are also included.

Consider searching by "Name of Work" (e.g., Bartleby) or by "Person - By or About" (e.g., Melville).


Search Tips:


1)  Consider searching by "Name of Work" OR perform a "Works Search":

·         Bartleby

2)  Consider searching by "Person - By or About" OR perform a "Person Search":

·         Melville, Herman

3)  Note that you can also combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         Bartleby (Name of Work) AND Melville, Herman (Person-By or About)

·         Bartleby (Name of Work) AND Emerson (Keyword)

·         Bartleby (Name of Work) AND transcenden* (Keyword)

·         Bartleby (Name of Work) AND depression (Keyword)


Literature Online (LION)

Literature Online (LION) allows full-text searching of 350 literature journals, as well as other criticism and reference resources.

Search Tips:


Under the "Search" section, select "Criticism and Reference,"  then Search in "Criticism" for:

·         Bartleby (Subject)

·         Melville, Herman (Subject)

·         Bartleby (Title Keyword) AND Melville, Herman (Subject)

·         Bartleby (Subject) AND Emerson (Keyword)

·         Bartleby (Subject) AND transcenden* (Keyword)

·         Bartleby (Subject) AND depression (Keyword)


Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):