Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: The Barracks Thief by Tobias Wolff (21:355:102): Find Articles

This course guide was specifically created for Instructor Joanne Chin's Spring 2012 section 6 ENG 102 class.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

Rutgers Libraries Toolbar

The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox extension (or add-on) that:

  • provides a drop-down menu to library resources
  • embeds library links on popular Websites such as Amazon.com
  • offers special functionality when you highlight terms on a Website and right-click over them with your mouse
  • allows linking from ISBNs, ISSNs, PubMed IDs, and DOIs to Rutgers-restricted online resources
  • is easy to install and easy to use

For more information, click on the link below:

(a) Searching for articles

searching for articles

(a) How do I request an article?

Introduction to Online Resources

To search for articles on your topic, start with one of the Rutgers University Libraries subscription databases.  Depending on your topic, there may be a number of helpful online resources.  This guide identifies a few suggested ones (out of the hundreds of possible online resources available) from which you might be able to find relevant articles.  Please see the boxes below for more information.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Search Tips:

1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subject Terms to be very helpful:

·         desertion

·         hero*

·         loyalty

·         allegiance


2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         [abandon* OR desertion] (SU Subject Terms) AND guilt (TX All Text)

·         hero* (SU Subject Terms) AND enlist (TX All Text) AND war (TX All Text)

·         motivat* (SU Subject Terms) AND winning (Select a Field - optional)

·         loyalty (SU Subject Terms) AND family (Select a Field - optional)


Related databases

If your topic is related to the humanities or social sciences, consider looking for articles within these 2 databases:

Literature-related databases

If your topic is related to English literature, consider looking for articles within these 2 databases:

How to locate the full-text of articles

As a Rutgers student, you generally do not have to pay to get the full-text of an article.  If Rutgers does not own or subscribe to it, you can request the article through interlibrary loan (see step #D below).  Just be sure to try steps #A-C first:


A.  Within many of our library databases, you may find that the full-text of articles is available either in PDF format or HTML format.  In that case, simply click on the Adobe Acrobat PDF icon or HTML link.


B.  If the full-text of an article is not available through that particular database,

  1. click on the and our link resolver may take you directly to the full-text of the article within another Rutgers-subscribed database. 
  2. If you see an intermediary screen instead, click on the first link (likely to be "Search the library catalog by Periodical Title") and take a look at the catalog record of the periodical (i.e., journal/magazine/newspaper/etc.).  If you do not see the periodical listed, go to step #C below.
  3. If the coverage dates listed next to the Electronic Access line(s) are within the date of when your article was published, click on that link.
  4. If the coverage dates listed next to the Electronic Access line(s) are outside of when your article was published, take a look at the print holdings.  If the Dana Library has a print copy, check the shelves on our lower level for your article. 
  5. If one of the other Rutgers University Libraries has a print copy, click on the "Article Delivery" button along the right side of the page and follow the directions in step #D below.


C.  If you receive no results when looking up the periodical title in the library catalog, consult our "Full A - Z List" of Electronic Journals (http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/1729?lang=en&lang.menu=en&lang.subject=en).  If the coverage dates listed next to the names of our online resources are within the date of when your article was published, click on that link.  Otherwise, follow the directions in step #D below to request an Interlibrary loan.

 

D.  For Article Delivery or Interlibary Loan, log in with your NetID and password:

https://www.rulill.rutgers.edu/illiad/RULILL/logon.html

  1. Along the left panel, under the New Request section, click on Article Request.
  2. Although only the areas marked with an asterisk(*) are required, it is recommended that you fill in as much information as possible.  Click the Submit Request button.
  3. Remember to Logoff (see the upper-left corner) when you are finished. 

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.