Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Trends in Health Care Delivery (25:705:223): Locating relevant journal articles

Designed for students in 25:705:223 to support their issues paper

Introduction to searching journal article indexes

  Indexes and dataebases come from a variety of sources ranging from commercial vendors to learned societies to government agencies.  Each source provides a unique search interface screen.  While some are colorful or filled with options, all search interface pages will offer the following common points:

  • An area to enter your concepts

  • Selection of fields (author, title, journal title, subject) within the record that may be searched
  • Use of Boolean operators (and, or, not) to expand or refine your search results
  • Limit by year, publication format, language
  • Display and save results

Creating a search strategy

            Two librarians at the Rutgers University Libraries in New Brunswick authored a research guide to help students get started with library research.  Their page on developing a search strategy will be very useful to you.  Please follow the link: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/content.php?pid=405149&sid=3385694

Database suggestions

Academic Search PremierA multidisciplinary database, Academic Search Premier offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Updated daily.  Coverage dates vary with the journal title.

       Need some help?

   The following tutorial was created by Rutgers librarians to provide information to students doing a general journal article search.

  

Health Science Journal Indexes

CINAHL - Provides comprehensive coverage of both the practical and theoretical literature in nursing from 1981 to the present.  Includes indexing from over 500 nursing journals.  Updated weekly.

        Need some help? 

                Ebsco, the producer of CINAHL, offers the following helpful tutorial which will take you just 5 minutes to complete.               

               http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/cinahl_advanced/cinahl_advanced.html

                 Ebsco also provides a two page “pocket guide” for you to print out. 

               http://support.ebsco.com/uploads/kb/cinahl_pocketguide.pdf

 Academic Search Premier and CINAHL should be good choices for your issues paper.  The following databases are optional choices.

 Healthstar - From the National Library of Medicine.  Includes citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.Equivalent to the former print index, Hospital Literature Index.  Updated monthly.

Medline From the National Library of Medicine.  Indexes the content of 4,600 biomedical journals.  Includes coverage from 1950 to the present. Updated daily.   Nursing journal subset limits results to citations from 250 journal titles in nursing.  Equivalent to former print index, International Nursing Index. 

PsycINFO  – Provides citations and abstract for the scholarly literature in psychology from 1872 to the present.  Includes indexing from more than 2,000 journals in multiple languages.  Updated weekly.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.