Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Political Theory and Theorists: Basic Resources: Finding Scholarly Articles

Need More?

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful. There are many other indexes that may focus more specifically on the particular topic that you are researching. Check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Finding Articles: Indexes and Databases

Social Sciences Full Text
The basic index for finding articles in the social sciences. Indexes over 550 of the core, English language journals in social science disciplines including political science, public welfare, urban studies, sociology and social work, and women's studies. Indexes many journals back to 1982 and, beginning with 1995, includes many full-text articles.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access.

Political Science and Public Policy

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975- Index to over 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access
Public Affairs Information Service
1915- Index to books, reports, government documents, and journals dealing with political, social, and public policy issues.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access


Philosopher's Index
1940- Index to over 480 journals worldwide, as well as books, relating to social and political philosophy and concepts, the philosophy of law, the philosophy of religion, etc.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access