Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Internship and Service Learning 20:121:827:330:01 and 331:01: Find Articles

Guide to information resources for students in Public Service who are doing an internship.


All titles: Rutgers-restricted access

Academy of Management Review
1976-(current-5 years)

Administrative Science Quarterly

American Journal of Political Science
1973-(current minus 2 years)

American Political Science Review
1906-(current minus 3 years)

American Review of Public Administration

Australian Journal of Public Administration
1994-present (with a 12 month delay)

Canadian Public Administration

Chinese Public Administration Review

Government Finance Review

International Journal of Public Administration
2001 to present (with a 12 month delay)

Journal of Policy Analysis and Management

Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory

Journal of Public Economics

Journal of Public Management and Social Policy
Selected issues available online.

Public Administration and Development

Public Administration Quarterly

Public Administration Review
1965- present (with a 12 month delay)

Public Budgeting and Finance
1981-present (with 12 month delay)
current year

Public Choice

Public Finance and Management
2002- present

Public Finance Review

The Public Interest (ceased publication 2005)
1990- 2005

Public Management
1993- present

Public Personnel Management

Public Performance and Management Review
2003- present

Public Voices

Review of Public Personnel Administration


Best Bets

All databases: Rutgers-restricted access unless otherwise stated


I.  Management, Regulation, and Public Policy

  • ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection --Interdisciplinary search of numerous databases such as PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Criminal Justice, and others.  You can place exact phrases in quotation marks, such as "public management" or "civic engagement".
  • Business Source Premier (Business and Management) -- full text for many scholarly journals in public administration and nonprofit management
  • EconLit (Economics) -- includes economists' views and studies of many social issues, including health care, poverty, and homelessness
  • PAIS - formerly Public Affairs Information Service -- the premier public affairs index, originally based upon the collections of the New York Public Library.  PAIS Archive goes back to 1915.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- 1975-present

II.  Education

  • ERIC -- links to periodical articles purchased by Rutgers; includes educational administration
  • ERIC (Free online) -- Source for many full-text ED reports
  • ProQuest Education Journals --  Another selection of journals in education, many in full text

III. Grantsmanship

IV. Healthcare

  • CINAHL (Nursing)
  • HealthSTAR (Health Services, Technology, Administration, and Research) -- For healthcare administrators.  OVID HealthSTAR is a commercial continuation of the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) now-defunct HealthSTAR database using updated material from MEDLINE.  [NLM HealthSTAR data has been folded into the main MEDLINE database (PubMed) since 1999-2000].
  • Medline (Medicine) - OVID version of the database.
  • PsycINFO - Psychological Abstracts
  • PubMed (Rutgers version) - MEDLINE version from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).  Use the Rutgers version for Rutgers links to full text articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts -- 1963-present; good for social aspects of healthcare

V.  Law and Criminal Justice

VI. Social Sciences and Social Problems

  • CIAO (International Affairs) -- Columbia International Affairs Online -- a collection of reports, conferences, journals and other publications from think tanks and international associations plus selected books on international affairs
  • CQ Researcher -- weekly reports on "hot topics" from Congressional Quarterly, Inc.  This is not scholarly publishing, but informative nevertheless.
  • PolicyMap -- Online data and mapping application; includes data on real estate
  • ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection -- A database of databases in the social sciences.  Includes contents of  PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Criminal Justice, and others.
  • PsycINFO - Psychological Abstracts online
  • Social Explorer - Interactive data mapping; includes data on religion and historical census data
  • Sociological Abstracts -- 1963-present

VII. Transportation

VIII. A Little of Everything

  • Google Scholar (Rutgers version) -- Use this one to find Rutgers linked full text
  • Academic Search Premier -- Covers many different subjects; indexes both scholarly and non-scholarly items
  • America:  History & Life -- History of the US and Canada, all years.  Includes many aspects of American history, such as political science, the arts, and social movements
  • Articles+ -- A Rutgers multi-database search from Ebsco designed for undergraduates.  Go to and use the red Articles search in the tabbed box.




Subject Librarian

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
The John Cotton Dana Library
tipton at