Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

GSE Language Socialization: Data/Statistics

This is a library research guide to resources for your course qualitative research studies exploring questions of language, learning and identity. These resources will help you with research related to the broader social contexts of your focal participant

Quick Data and Reports

 The Statistical Abstract of the United States can be used as a gateway to the range of statistical information collected by the government.

Migration Policy Institute (MPI) Data Hub  provides immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries  This source includes fact sheets on social and demographic statistics, language and education, workforce, and income and poverty.

Office of Immigration Statistics (Dept. of Homeland Security) is a compendium of materials available for scholarly research in the area of Homeland Security.Topics covered include: border security, immigration, and naturalization and citizenship programs and plans, 

         Yearbook of Immigration Statistics  is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were grantedlawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions. The Yearbook tables are released as they become available. A final PDF is released in August of the following fiscal year.


Databases

Use the databases below to help you find demographic, social and economic data.

American Fact Finder is the U.S. Census Bureau's data dissemination and online mapping engine. 

Social Explorer provides convenient access to several major sources of demographic data: the U.S. Decennial Census of population and housing, the American Community Survey, and data on religion from InfoGroup and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study.  Social Explorer's strength is its interactive mapping tool that allows data to be easily visualized, as well as the easy creation of data extracts.

Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history. The Millennial Edition is divided into five sections broadly covering: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Covers colonial period to the present day.

Higher Education

Association for Institutional Research: Web-Based IR Resources links to over 2200 websites with data and other information related to institutional research, including Common Data Sets available from higher education institutions participating in the collaborative effort between publishers and the higher educational community to provide quality and accurate information.

Chronicle of Higher Education: Facts & Figures provides statistics on a variety of topics related to higher education, including faculty salaries, pay and benefits of presidents, gender equity in athletics, endowments, graduation rates, philanthropy, crime, library holdings, and data on student enrollment, financial aid, and test scores.

 College InSight  provides information for approximately 7,000  U.S. colleges and universities.  Includes data variables on cost of attendance, graduation rates, race/ethnic diversity of faculty, and race/ethnic and economic diversity of students, including debt of graduating seniors, percentage of undergraduates with financial need,  percentage who received Pell Grants.  A comparison tool allows users to compare and select variables and institutions, as well as view and compare the data elements for all institutions.

Education Finance Statistics Center: Surveys and Programs, a segment of the National Center for Educational Statistics, focuses on postsecondary education. Includes links to surveys of students in their last year of undergraduate studies, statistics on career and technical education of secondary and postsecondary students, and longitudinal studies of students from secondary through postsecondary education and workplace. Provides a link to the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) is the NCES data collection program which gathers data from postsecondary education providers and provides data tools for collection and analysis of data and statistics.

 EDUCAUSE Core Data Service provides comparison data about campus information technology environments and practices for decisionmaking and planning for information technology in higher education. ECAR (EDUCAUSE Center for Applied Research) provides research studies and analyses of issues in higher education.

Grapevine: An Annual Compilation of Data on State Tax Appropriations for the General Operation of Higher Education is a project of the Center for the Study of Education Policy at Illinois State University, this is a source of data on tax support for universities, colleges, community colleges, and state higher education agencies. Provides individual state reports and a 50-state summary table showing the total state tax appropriations for the current year and percent changes over one, two, five, and ten years.

 

Higher Education Research Institute (HERI) based in the UCLA Graduate School Education & Information Studies, encompasses the Cooperative Institutional Research Program (CIRP) which is considered the "largest and oldest empirical study of higher education". The website includes information from surveys and other research projects related to faculty and students on such topics as spirituality, transfer and retention, college and gender gap, impact of single-gender high schools on transition to college, and effects of service learning.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) is the world's largest archive of digital social science data, including significant data relevant to higher education.

International Bibliographic Database on Higher Education (HEDBIB)

This is an integrated database of over 30.000 references related to higher education systems, administration, planning and policy, costs and finances, evaluation of higher education, issues related to staff and students, cooperation, mobility and equivalences of degrees, curricula, teaching methods and learning processes HEDBIB is maintained and compiled by the International Association of Universities (IAU) from its own data and with contributions from: UNESCO Headquarters in Paris (http://www.unesco.org); UNESCO European Centre for Higher Education (CEPES) (http://www.cepes.ro); UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning (IIEP) (http://www.unesco.org/iiep); UNESCO International Institute for Higher Education in Latin America (IESALC) (http://www.iesalc.unesco.org.ve); American Council on Education (ACE) (http://www.acenet.edu); Center for Higher Education Policy Studies (CHEPS) (http://www.utwente.nl/cheps); ERIC Clearinghouse on Higher Education (ERIC) (http://eric.ed.gov).

National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that prepares analyses of performance results and key findings for promoting higher education policies.

 
Security on Campus, Inc. provides college and university campus crime data available from the U.S. Department of Education statistics from more than 6,000 schools and the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting program data for about 400 schools. The analysis cutting tool provided by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education facilitates customized reports based on data of one institution or campus, aggregated data for a group of campuses, or the complete data file for all institutions for a specified year. Links to other campus security related site, e.g., Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse and Violence Prevention.

 State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEHO) is designed to serve the needs of statewide coordinating and governing boards in higher education, this site provides surveys on salaries, tuition, financial assistance, priorities, issues, and trends in higher education Includes links to data sources, fiscal resources, accountability reports, planning reports, and analytical tools for assessing and analyzing higher education data and general factors.

 UNESCO Institute of Statistics provides education data from 200 countries and territories collected through two annual surveys. Information includes enrollment, graduates, demography, and educational finance. Provides data tool for building custom data tables.

New Jersey

Rutgers Eagleton Institute of Politics: Program on Immigration and Democracy provides resources for research exploring the challenges and opportunties stemming from immigration across New Jersey, the nation, and the world.

Fact Sheets for New Jersey from the Migration Policy Institute (MPI) Data Hub including information on social and demographic statistics, language and education, workforce, and income and poverty.

New Jersey Digital Highway is a "one stop shop" for New Jersey history and culture, from the collections of NJ libraries, museums, archives and historical societies.  It includes a segment on immigration sources.

Rutgers Office of Institutional Research

     Rutgers Fact Book contains historical and current data about students, faculty, finances, facilities, and instruction.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.