Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

GSE Language Socialization: Searching for Journal Articles

This is a library research guide to resources for your course qualitative research studies exploring questions of language, learning and identity. These resources will help you with research related to the broader social contexts of your focal participant

Tips for Getting Journal Articles

If you need an article from a scholarly peer-reviewed journal…  

             A number of indexes now have the option for limiting to types of publications or

              articles (e.g., peer- reviewed, etc.).    If you are unsure whether or not the journal

             is peer-reviewed, you can refer to Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory which is available

              under Research Resources—Indexes and Databases.

 

If the index does not have the full article, click on  the Get it@R or Search for Article icon    

to find out if Rutgers has alternate online access to the journal.  If you do not see a link to full

text, click on Search the library’s catalog by title or Search the library’s catalog by ISSN which

will take you to the record in IRIS for the title if available in the Rutgers libraries.   The IRIS record

will note the availability of the journal online in the Electronic access:  line.   IRIS also indicates whether

the library system owns the periodical in paper or in other formats.              .              

                                                               

If Rutgers University Libraries has the article but not electronically, you can request an

 electronic copy by clicking on the ARTICLE DELIVERY button in the IRIS record.

 

If Rutgers University Libraries does not have the article, you can request a copy

             through Interlibrary Loan.   The turnaround time is generally 2-3 days.  Click on INTERLIBRARY LOAN AND ARTICLE DELIVERY SERVICE.

 

For further information on finding articles at the Rutgers University Libraries, refer to How Do I…. link from the Libraries website and click on …find an article?  and …know if RU has a particular journal?

 

·         and Interlibrary Loan link on the RUL homepage and select the Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services which will take you to the Article Delivery site.

                                     

·         If Rutgers does not subscribe to the journal, you can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.  The turnaround time is generally 2-3 days.  Go to the Delivery and Interlibrary Loan link on the homepage.  Click on Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services which will take you to the Article Delivery site.

 

·         For further information on finding articles at the Rutgers University Libraries, refer to How Do I…. link from the Libraries website and click on …find an article?  and …know if RU has a particular journal?

 

Searching for Journal Articles

These are key databases for searching for journal articles in the field of education:

Academic Search Premier

Multidisciplinary index to scholarly, professional, and popular periodicals. Includes a significant number of education journals. Use the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) feature to limit your results.  NOTE: You can search this database simultaneously with ERIC and Professional Development Collection by clicking on Choose Databases and checking the box next to the specific database titles.

Education Index

Covers the latest from both applied and theoretical aspects and conceptions of education.  Use the Per Reviewed limit feature.

ERIC(Education Resources Information Center)

Provides access to information in journals and non-journal literature, including conference papers, books, reports, dissertations, theses, and policy papers. NOTE: You can search this database simultaneously with Academic Search Complete and Professional Development Collection by clicking on Choose Databases and checking the box next to the specific database titles.  Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) or the U.S. Department of Education, the ERIC online digital library is publicly accessible at http://eric.ed.gov/

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLB)

Provides information on international literature (journal and non-journal) in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Use the  Peer-Reviewed Journals limit feature.

PAIS International and Archive

Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet material, and more on national and international issues, including matters in education such as literacy and No Child Left Behind.  

Professional Development collection

A collection of education journals and reports.  Over half of the journals are peer-reviewed. Use the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals limiter.

PsycINFO

Academic and professional journal and non-journal literature in psychology and related areas such as education.  Use the Peer Reviewed Journal limit feature.

Sociological Abstracts

Academic and professional journal and non-journal literature in sociology and related areas such as education.  Click on the Peer-Reviewed Journals tab. 

Web of Science

Includes scholarly peer-reviewed journal article information published  from 1984 to the present for sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences.

PLUS....

Google Scholar

Searches peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, books citations, and reports from a variety of providers available on the Web.  Sources of material include academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers.  Google Scholar is not considered comprehensive for academic content, so for the most thorough search of your topic.


Subject Guide

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.