Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

GSE Language Socialization: eReference Sources

This is a library research guide to resources for your course qualitative research studies exploring questions of language, learning and identity. These resources will help you with research related to the broader social contexts of your focal participant

Specialized Reference Sources

Digital Reference Collections

Gale Virtual Reference Library [Rutgers Restricted]

Sage eReference Encyclopedias [Rutgers Restricted]

 

Examples of Digital Reference Titles with entries related to language and socialization topics.

Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers topics such as: adolescent, adult, child, and infant development; ads training and education; culture and diversity; developmental assessment, disorders, processes, and risks; the ecology of human development; emotional, social, and personality development; ethics; families and parenting; health; historical influences; organizations, schools and universities; religiosity and spirituality; research methodology; social issues; and more.

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education [Rutgers Restricted]
Explores the "subject from multiple perspectives: its history, policy, classroom practice, instructional design, and research bases. Shows connections between bilingual education and related subjects, such as linguistics, education equity issues, socio-cultural diversity, and the nature of demographic change in the United States. Documents the history of bilingual education in the last half of the 20th century and summarizes its roots in earlier periods. Discusses important legislation and litigation documents" Electronic version of the 2 volumes print resource.

Encyclopedia of Education [Rutgers Restricted]
"Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice." Electronic version of the 8 volume 2nd edition of the print resource.

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology [Rutgers Restricted]
"Draws from a variety of disciplines including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy."

Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent [Rutgers Restricted]
"Contains thousands of ready-to-use facts from the fields of education, psychology, sociology, and the arts. The entries cover the major facets of this field, from artistic ability, to achievement motivation, to creative personality, to emotional intelligence, gender differences, genius, intelligence testing, learning styles, minority under-representation, multiple intelligences, musical ability, prodigies, scientists, self-actualization, thinking skills, and more."

Encyclopedia of Human Development [Rutgers Restricted]
Includes information from the "fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education." An electronic version of the 3 volume print resource, the set "covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more."

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics [Rutgers Restricted]
Includes "entries that comprise a comprehensive overview of the most important topics in the areas of measurement and statistics." Categories such as Experimental Methods, Qualitative Methods, Organizations and Publications, and others are covered.

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education [Rutgers Restricted]
"Intended to provide a comprehensive background for those interested in issues involving schools and society."

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides "a general understanding of the issues of utmost importance in education in the 21st century. The text is a combination of historical reviews, current debates, and pending issues of concern at the classroom, state, and federal levels, with sections devoted to students, their teachers, professional staff, the educational context of curriculum and learning, and current and future issues."

 

Subject Guide

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.