Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Honors College Newark: Find Articles

Resources for students of the Honors Living-Learning Community at Newark

Ways to Find Full Text Articles

 

1.      The article is linked to full text in your database.  ("The 1-click solution.")

2.      Click on Get it @ R to search for the article in Rutgers resources automatically.  (If Get It @ R sends you directly to the article, it is "the 2-click solution."  If you end up at an intermediate screen, click on one of the options, such as SEARCH THE LIBRARY CATALOG BY PERIODICAL TITLE or REQUEST THIS ARTICLE VIA INTERLIBRARY LOAN.)

3.      Try the JOURNAL TITLE  in the JOURNALS TAB in the box at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu.

4.      Try Articles+ by searching in the ARTICLES TAB in the box at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu.

5.      Use the Rutgers version of Google Scholar, which has links to full text owned by Rutgers.

6.      Can't find the article anywhere at Rutgers?  Go to ILLIAD and use the ARTICLE REQUEST form to obtain the article via interlibrary loan.

Many Subjects

Even More Databases...

All databases: Rutgers-restricted access unless otherwise stated

 

I.  Management, Regulation, and Public Policy

  • ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection --Interdisciplinary search of numerous databases such as PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Criminal Justice, and others.  You can place exact phrases in quotation marks, such as "public management" or "civic engagement".
  • Business Source Premier (Business and Management) -- full text for many scholarly journals in public administration and nonprofit management
  • EconLit (Economics) -- includes economists' views and studies of many social issues, including health care, poverty, and homelessness
  • PAIS - formerly Public Affairs Information Service -- the premier public affairs index, originally based upon the collections of the New York Public Library.  PAIS Archive goes back to 1915.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- 1975-present

II.  Education

  • ERIC -- links to periodical articles purchased by Rutgers; includes educational administration
  • ERIC (Free online) -- Source for many full-text ED reports
  • ProQuest Education Journals --  Another selection of journals in education, many in full text

III. Grantsmanship

IV. Healthcare

  • CINAHL (Nursing)
  • HealthSTAR (Health Services, Technology, Administration, and Research) -- For healthcare administrators.  OVID HealthSTAR is a commercial continuation of the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) now-defunct HealthSTAR database using updated material from MEDLINE.  [NLM HealthSTAR data has been folded into the main MEDLINE database (PubMed) since 1999-2000].
  • Medline (Medicine) - OVID version of the database.
  • PsycINFO - Psychological Abstracts
  • PubMed (Rutgers version) - MEDLINE version from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).  Use the Rutgers version for Rutgers links to full text articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts -- 1963-present; good for social aspects of healthcare

V.  Law and Criminal Justice

VI. Social Sciences and Social Problems

  • CIAO (International Affairs) -- Columbia International Affairs Online -- a collection of reports, conferences, journals and other publications from think tanks and international associations plus selected books on international affairs
  • CQ Researcher -- weekly reports on "hot topics" from Congressional Quarterly, Inc.  This is not scholarly publishing, but informative nevertheless.
  • PolicyMap -- Online data and mapping application; includes data on real estate
  • ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection -- A database of databases in the social sciences.  Includes contents of  PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Criminal Justice, and others.
  • PsycINFO - Psychological Abstracts online
  • Social Explorer - Interactive data mapping; includes data on religion and historical census data
  • Sociological Abstracts -- 1963-present

VII. Transportation

VIII. A Little of Everything

  • Google Scholar (Rutgers version) -- Use this one to find Rutgers linked full text
  • Academic Search Premier -- Covers many different subjects; indexes both scholarly and non-scholarly items
  • America:  History & Life -- History of the US and Canada, all years.  Includes many aspects of American history, such as political science, the arts, and social movements
  • Articles+ -- A Rutgers multi-database search from Ebsco designed for undergraduates.  Go to http://libraries.rutgers.edu and use the red Articles search in the tabbed box.