Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Victorian Period (350:35548:01): Scholarly Articles

Literature of the Victorian Era in historical context

Contemporary Publications

American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 (APS Online)

Full text of periodical articles from the Victorian period are included

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Full text of U.S. newspapers published between 1800 and 1900.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

Meta-index to contemporary sources including numerous other indexes and databases covering the nineteenth century in Britain, the United States, and elsewhere.  "It is probably the most comprehensive source for English language material printed in the 19th Century."--from the Rutgers description

Best Bets for Lit Crit

Really Useful Interdisciplinary Databases for Literary Study

Humanities Index Retrospective

Indexing of "core" academic titles in the humanities for 1907 to 1984.

Google Scholar (Rutgers restricted version)

Indexes many items not commonly found in one place elsewhere. Lists PDF or indicates Full Text@Rutgers if readily available. Does not prepare bibliographic output; you must use a citation manager (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, or the like) or other method to capture bibliographic information.

JSTOR

Full-text backfiles of important academic journals in many fields. WARNING: Most materials in this database are more than five years old.  (Even your best friends won't tell you!)

Project Muse

Recent full-text articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Rutgers databases related to history, art, music, literature, philosophy, religion, and other humanities.

Subject Librarian

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Contact:
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton at rutgers.edu
Website

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.