Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Clinical Social Work: Direct Practice in Mental Health: Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.


PsycINFO 1840-
Comprehensive index to the the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, and education. Covers some 2000 journals, as well as book chapters and dissertations.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Medline 1950-
The primary database for clinical medicine, including psychiatry.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Social Services Abstracts
Index to research relating to social work, human services, and relating areas. Social Services Abstracts indexes over 1300 journals as well as dissertations.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports.