Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An extensive collection of online encyclopedias is available on the Libraries website. A small sampling of titles is listed below.
Country Studies: Area Handbook Series
Searchable versions of the Handbooks published by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Department of the Army. Most books in the series deal with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political; economic; social; and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they're shaped by cultural factors.
Encyclopedia of Disaster Relief [Rutgers Restricted]
"This encyclopedia covers response to disasters around the world, from governments to NGOs, from charities to politics, from refugees to health, and from economics to international relations, covering issues in both historical and contemporary context. The volumes include information relevant to students of sociology, national security, economics, health sciences, political science, emergency preparedness, history, agriculture, and many other subjects."
Encyclopedia of Modern Europe: Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction [Rutgers Restricted]
"A multi-volume survey of European history from the beginning of World War I in 1914 to the present, presented through alphabetically arranged entries that focus on the period's scientific, social and cultural history as well as the political, military and economic developments."
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa [Rutgers Restricted]
"Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government. Electronic version of the 4 volume 2nd edition of the print resource."
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a Political, Social, and Military History [Rutgers Restricted]
Articles of varying lengths on all aspects of the Vietnam war, with a chronology, document texts, and related information. Each article includes a list of references and linked cross-references to related topics.
Encyclopedia of United States National Security [Rutgers Restricted]
"In addition to presenting historical facts and analyses of weapons systems, treaties, and international conflicts, it is designed to also provide a comprehensive introduction to some of the more complicated and abstract questions concerning world politics and national security."
Encyclopedia of War & American Society [Rutgers Restricted]
"The three volumes cover a wide range of general thematic categories, issues, and topics that address not only the geopolitical effects of war, but also show how the U.S. engagement in national and international conflicts has affected the social and cultural arena." Key themes include: arts and culture; civil-military relations; economy and labor; education (both military and civilian); environment and health; journalism and media; law and justice; military leaders and figures; planning, command and control; race, gender, and ethnicity; religion; science and technology;veterans' issues and experiences; and the wars themselves and their civilian and military leaders.