Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

U.S Women's and Gender History: Women in Business

Need More?

Check the Library Catalog using the subject keywords:

businesswomen united states history

women executives united states

Bibliography

Selected Bibliography: Women, Enterprise & Society
Part of the Women, Enterprise & Society site at the Baker Library of the Harvard Business School.

Databases

Business Source Premier
Index to thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. Most publications indexed back to 1980s or 1990s; individual titles may begin coverage much earlier. Harvard Business Review available in full-text beginning with 10/01/1922. Rutgers-restricted Access
Factiva
Full-text of 8,000 leading business newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Rutgers-restricted Access

Women in Business

Enterprising Women: 250 Years of American Business
Virginia G. Drachman. Chapel Hill, N.C., University of North Carolina Press, 2002.
Biographies, placed within a historical context, of forty notable women entrepreneurs, 1750 to 2000. Book developed in conjunction with a traveling exhibit organized by the Schlesinger Library of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard. Portions of the exhibit are available online, as are some video vignettes with biographical commentary. Available?
Historical Encyclopedia of American Women Entrepreneurs: 1776 to the Present
Jeannette M. Oppedisano. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2000.
2-4 page biographical essays, with selected bibliography, on 120 American women who contributed to the nation's economy. Available?
American Women Managers and Administrators: A Selective Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Leaders in Business, Education, and Government
Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1985. Available?

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.