Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

U.S Women's and Gender History: Race and Gender in Popular Culture

Bibliographies

Projecting Ethnicity and Race: An Annotated Bibliography of Studies on Imagery in American Film.
Marsha J. Hamilton and Eleanor S. Block. Westport, Conn., Praeger Publishers, 2003.
Dana Call Number: PN1995.9 .M56.H36 2003
African Americans in the Movies: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
Partially annotated bibliography of books and articles.
Gays, Lesbian and Transgendered People in Motion Pictures: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library

Filmographies

The Movies, Race, and Ethnicity: African Americans
Annotated filmography from the Media Resources Center, UC Berkeley. For some films includes selected reviews and articles.

Finding Other Resources

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective. 1900- .
Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from the late 19th century to 1982.
Readers' Guide Full Text
Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from 1983 to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access
MLA International Bibliography  1926- .
The most comprehensive index to journal articles, books, dissertations, and other materials relating to literature, folkore, and film studes. Indexes more than 4400 journals. Rutgers-restricted Access
  •  Searches that you may find useful in MLA include:
    • treatment of african americans
    • treatment of lesbian
    • treatment of working women

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.