Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

U.S Women's and Gender History: Finding Scholarly Articles

Need a Different Database?

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the   button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.

Databases

History

America: History and Life
1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals
Index to over 12,000 articles on women's and gender history published from 1975 to the present in historical and women's studies journals.

Gender and Sexuality

Women's Studies International
1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
gender Inn: Women's and Gender Studies Database
Index to over 8400 citations pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature.
SexBiblio: Bibliography of the History of Western Sexuality
Database of about 25,000 titles of primary and secondary literature of the history of sexuality in Europe, the U.S. and Canada from 1700 to 2007/2008.

History of Medicine

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
1975- . Searchable bibliography of articles, books, proceedings, and dissertations. Integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
PubMed
Index to clinical medicine; PubMed includes citations to more than 250,000 journal articles in the history of medicine and related fields published since 1964. Use the "Limits" function to limit your search to "Historical Article."
Index Medicus
1879-1927 Available?
Quarterly Cumulative Index Medicus
1927-1956 Available?
Bibliography of the History of Medicine
Index to journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers and proceedings that were published from 1965-1993. Available?
Bibliography of the History of Medicine of the United States and Canada, 1939-1960
Genevieve Miller. 2nd edition. Baltimore, MD., Johns Hopkins Press, 1964. Available?

Political Science and Public Policy

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-
Index to over 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Public Affairs Information Service
1915- Index to books, reports, government documents, and journals dealing with political, social, and public policy issues.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Anthropology

Anthropology Plus
Index to articles, books and reports in all anthropological fields as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.