Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

U.S Women's and Gender History: Finding Images, Media, and Sound

Finding Films

Want to know if the Rutgers Libraries own a particular film?

Select Advanced Search in the Library Catalog. Enter the title into the "TITLE" search box, and select Visual Materials from the format pull-down menu.

Videos/DVDs owned by the Dana Library are available for viewing in the Media Center on the 4th floor of Dana Library.
Videos that are only available from the Media Center in New Brunswick must be booked BY FACULTY for class viewing. All other users must view materials on-site at the Media Center in the Douglass Library. Advance reservations for viewing rooms are recommended. Undergraduate students may make reservations no earlier than 24 hours in advance. To make a reservation, call 732-932-978.

Sound Collections

Smithsonian Global Sound. Over 2900 online audio recordings (over 42,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music.
Off-Campus AccessRutgers-restricted Access

DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music. CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. Over 1,200 complete CDs (7,500 compositions).
Off-Campus AccessRutgers-restricted Access

Radio, Television, and Film

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Includes Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access
Paley Center for Media Database
The Paley Center (New York City) houses a media collection of nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements. The database includes synopsis of programs. The Edward John Noble Scholars Room has carrels equipped with an audio/visual monitor for viewing and listening to the Paley Center's collection of programs and computers that access the library's database. Use of the Scholars Room is available to students and others affiliated with educational organizations at a rate of $15 per day; The Scholar's Room is open: Wednesdays to Sundays 12:00 to 6:00 pm, and 12:00 to 8:00 pm on Thursdays.
American History in Video
Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access

Finding Early Film Reviews

Film Review Index. 2 vols
Patricia King Hanson & Stephen L. Hanson, editors. Phoenix, Ariz., Oryx Press, 1986-
One of the best sources for finding early film reviews, the Film Review Index cites reviews to over 7000 feature films released between 1914 and 1985. Vol. 1: 1882-1949; Vol. 2: 1950-1985. In addition to popular magazines, the index also lists reviews in trade publications, newspapers, anthologies, and selected books.
Dana Call Number: Ref. PN1995 .F513 1986

Once you have the list of sources in which a specific film was reviewed, you will need to go to the Rutgers Library Catalog to find out if that source is available at Rutgers. Select Periodical Title Begins with when searching with the journal name or Title Begins with when searching for a book.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective. 1900- .
Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from the late 19th century to 1982. An excellent source for finding film reviews.

Image Libraries

ARTstor
Approximately 700,000 images with citations in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 685,000 images digitized from NYPL collections.

Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
Search or browse a rich collection of images taken from the collections of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library.
Women's History Resources in the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division
Suggested searched by topic areas.

You can also use Google Image Search to look for images of particular people or subjects.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.