Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

History of U.S.-Muslim Relations: Country & Regional Resources

Country Studies

Country Studies
Online versions of the Country Studies/Area Handbooks series published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. A basic resource for an overview of a particular country. Note: The Handbooks found here are electronic versions of studies published between 1988 and 1998, when Congress withdrew funding for this program. Funding was restored for 2004 and work continued on several new editions as well as updated Country Profiles. However, no new funding has been allocated.

Country & Regional Resources

Africa-Wide: NiPad
Search across 30 databases providing access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa. Indexes books, journals, newspapers, government publications, and popular magazines.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Bibliography of Asian Studies.
The major index for the study of East, Southeast, and South Asia. 1971 to the present.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted access
RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish Studies
Index to selective articles relating to Jewish studies and Israel. From the Jewish National and University Library. 1966- .
Background Notes
Information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations.
CountryWatch
Includes reports on 191 countries worldwide with up-to-date political, economic, cultural, business, and environmental information, as well as current and archived country-specific news.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

More on Individual Countries

Afghanistan

To find books and other materials on U.S. relations with Afghanistan, search The Catalog using SUBJECT keywords

united states foreign relations afghanistan
Other subject searches that you might find useful:

afghan war, 2001-
afghanistan, islam and politics
Afghanistan Five Years On: An Assessment
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies. No. 2/2007
Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan
Ludwig W. Adamec. 2d edition. Lanham, Md., Scarecrow Press, 1997.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Iran

To find books and other materials on U.S. relations with Iran, search The Catalog using SUBJECT keywords
united states foreign relations iran
iran hostage crisis 1979-1981
The United States and Iran: A Documentary History
Yonah Alexander and Allan Nanes, editors. Frederick, Md., Aletheia Books, 1980.
Dana Call Number: E183.8 .I55U56
Encyclopaedia Iranica
Important multi-disciplinary reference work which “focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.” Scope includes all lands where the Iranian languages are or were spoken, including Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Baluchistan, Kurdistan, the Pathan regions of Pakistan, Parsi communities of India, and the Ossetic and Talish regions of Caucasus. You will need to download a special font in order to view Encyclopaedia articles.

Iraq

To find books and other materials on U.S. relations with Iraq, search The Catalog using SUBJECT keywords:
united states foreign relations iraq
iraq war, 2003
Iraq Three Years On
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies. No.2/2006.

Pakistan

To find books and other materials on U.S. relations with Pakistan, search The Catalog using SUBJECT keywords:
united states foreign relations pakistan
The White House & Pakistan: Secret Declassified Documents, 1969-1974.
Selected and edited by F.S. Aijazuddin. Karachi, Oxford University Press, 2002.
Alexander Call Number: E183.8.P18W47 2002

Palestine

To find books and other materials on U.S. relations with Palestine and Palestinian Arabs, search The Catalog using SUBJECT keywords
united states foreign relations palestine
palestinian arabs politics and government
The Palestinian Problem and United States Policy: A guide to Issues and References
Bruce Robellet Kuniholm. Claremont, Calif., Regina Books, 1986.
Dana Call Number: DS119.7 .K86 1986
Encyclopedia of the Palestine Problem
Issa Nakhleh. New York, NY, Intercontinental Books, 1991. 2 volumes
Dana Call Number: Ref. DS119.7.N2928 1991
The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Historical Perspective
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies No.9/2004.
UNISPAL: UN Information System on the Question of Palestine
Search or browse a large collection of current and historical United Nations documents concerning the question of Palestine and related issues since 1946.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.