Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Gender and Technology: Images, Films & Digital Oral History

This research guide is for the students in Gender and Technology course.

Images in Databases

ARTstor is a database of images, including art work and  photographs. If you are interested in other kinds of technology, try a search for "footbinding," or "corset."

New Jersey Trade and Manufacturers Catalog displays ads for different products . See the example of "sewing machines." 

The HistoryMakers

The HistoryMakers is an extensive digital oral history archive with interviews with African Americans in all fields, including medicine and technology. Search for "engineering and women," "computer science and women," medicine and women." 

 

Streaming Video

The Media Center at Douglass Library has a collection of films in DVD format that students can check out.  Our media collection includes three streaming media databases: 

 Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) includes mostly documentaries, many from around the globe. 

Kanopy hosts documentaries and  many international feature films. 

SWANK Digital Campus hosts commercial films.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.