Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Gender and Technology: Encyclopedias and Databases

This research guide is for the students in Gender and Technology course.

E- Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedias and handbooks are useful to gather overall information. To access these titles off-campus, you will need RU login.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology Searchable version of the 2 volume encyclopedia covering key issues, terms, and concepts relating to the role of gender in human interaction with IT and the IT profession. Search for "pay gap" or "glass ceiling, etc. "

Encyclopedia of Gender in Media Addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, it also analyzes gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce.

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures presents an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It includes entries on the use of technology.

The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory includes comprehensive essays on significant topics by  feminist and gender scholars, including Rutgers faculty. 

Searching Specific Databases

Instead of QuickSearch, you can also go to specific databases. The following databases are recommended for topics on gender and technology. Click here for a complete list of individual subscription databases.

Academic Search Premier

ACM Digital Library

ComAbstracts

Communications & Mass Media Complete

CQ Researcher

Factiva

Historical Newspapers and Vogue Archives

New York Times Historical

Washington Post Historical 

Vogue archive  Go to link "Proquest Vogue archive." 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.