Skip to main content
Communicaiton focused databases
Advanced Searching Using Boolean Operator
One of the more commonly practiced advanced search strategies is Boolean searching using operators like "AND" and "OR".
- Use "AND" between search terms to retrieve fewer results (i.e., narrow down your search) and find only articles that include all of the terms specified.
- Use "OR" to retrieve more results (i.e., broaden your search results) and find articles that include any of the terms specified. In the latter case, using synonyms or similar words separated by the word "OR" may also help expand your search.
Click here to see an example of search using Boolean operators.
For a complete list of databases click here.
Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database that includes communication journals.
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Covers the subject of "computing" in its broadest sense. Includes topics on information science and human computer interaction
Business Source Premier
covers most business and management topics including banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration. Full text
ERIC Education Resources Information Center
Use this database if your subject covers college students, students and teacher parental relationships, etc.
Factiva (Formerly Dow-Jones)
A huge business database that includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
This database includes back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Offers product and industry market research reports
PAIS International and Archive
Use this database if your topic addresses issues regarding public policy, public administration and policies of governments of all levels.
Provides full text articles in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
If your topic covers the subjects of identity, emotion, relationships in the new media environment, etc.
Includes many social science journals
Westlaw Campus Research
If your research projects requires legal aspects of an issue use this database
Wiley Online Library Communication and Media Studies
A multidisciplinary database that has a section on Communication and Media Studies. Some key communication journals such as the Journal of Communication and Human Communication Research are available from this database.