Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

America in the 1950s: Reference Books

A library guide for America in the 1950s course taught on the Camden Campus by Dr. Janet Golden

Reference Works

Reference Works

General

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture / REF E 169.12 E49 2001
Historical Dictionary of the 1950's / REF E 169.12 O44 2000
Guide to U.S. Popular Culture / REF E 169.1 D399 2001
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture / REF E 169.1 S764 2000
Encyclopedia of American Social History / REF HN 57 E58 1993 
War and American Popular Culture / REF E 181 W26 1999 
Encyclopedia of the Korean War / REF DS 918 E53 2000 
Historical Dictionary of the Korean War / DS 918 H536 
Handbook of American Popular Culture / REF E 169.1 H2643 1989
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century / REF E 740.7 E53 1996
Fashion and Merchandising Fads / REF E 169.12 H634 1994
Historical Dictionary of the Cold War / REF D 843 S547 2000
Encyclopedia of Cold War Politics / REF E 840 I57 2000

Chronologies

American Decades, 1950-1959 / REF E 169.12 A419 1994 v. 6
American Chronicle / REF E 169.1 G664 1999
Chronology of World History, 1910-1998 / REF D 11 M39 1999 v. 4
Chronology of African-American History / REF E 185 H64 1991
Milestones:  A Chronology of American Women's History / REF HQ 1410 W434 1997

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.