Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Library Guide for International Students (Rutgers-Newark): Find Articles

What is ...?

ABSTRACT: A short summary of an article. It can also refer to an electronic database which contains citations and summaries of articles, which can usually be searched by subject, author and/or title.

ARTICLE: A piece of nonfiction writing on a topic, generally between 1 and 35 pages in length, often published as part of a journal, magazine, or newspaper.

CITATION: A reference to an article containing all the information necessary to identify and locate that work, including its author's name, title, periodical title, date, and page.

INDEX: A printed publication or electronic database that provides references to periodical articles by their subject, author, or other search terms.

JOURNAL: A publication, issued on a regular basis, which contains scholarly research published as articles, research papers or reports.

PEER REVIEWED ARTICLE: An article published after it is evaluated and approved by the author’s peers (scholars and researchers in the same field) to ensure the quality of the publication. (Video 1:36')

PERIODICAL: A publication issued at regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, biannually). Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all periodicals.

Library Terminology

Library Terminology created by Rutgers librarians for International Students.

Multilingual Glossary (by ACRL) for ESL Speakers: Table (terms in six languages) and Definitions.

ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science.

(b) Searching for articles

Select an Article Database

Indexes and Databases by Subject and Title

(Rutgers off-campus users must log-in for access to Rutgers restricted resources.)

Most commonly used databases:

Locate Full-Text Article

Full-text article may be accessed directly through the database, use getbutton to locate the article if it's not directly available but maybe available through other Rutgers subscribed databases.

For articles not owned by Rutgers, use "Interlibrary Loan Services" to request "Article Delivery" to your email.

(a) How do I request an article?

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.