Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Nursing Graduate Student Library Research Guide - RUL: Online reference shelf

Information to support graduate students as they become proficient users of library resources and services

Selected online reference resources

Clinical calculations

MDCalc

            Uses fill-in-the-blank formulas to complete the calculations.  Website author states clearly that “all calculations must be re-checked and should not be used alone to guide patient care.”  Locate formulas by medical specialty or by body system.

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster’s Medical Dictionary

Who Named It?

            Initiative led by Ole Daniel Enersen, a Norwegian medical historian, to copile a biographical dictionary of medical eponyms.  Brief entries include biographical information and characteristics of the medical disorder.  Current contents include over 8,000 eponyms, more than 4,000 people and main entries.  Search using a list of categories, by keyword, or by a person’s last name.

Core medical texts

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2017 (Rutgers restricted access)

 

Merck Manual for Healthcare Professionals

            Enhanced online version of print Merck Manuals, a series of healthcare books for practitioners and consumers (Merck Home Health Handbook for Patients and Caregivers)  Includes multimedia such as images, audio and video materials.  Search by using the alphabetical index or a list of disorders by body system.

Harrison's Online  (Rutgers restricted access)

Drug information

Drug Information Portal

Gateway to selected information on 17,000 drugs from the National Library of Medicine and other federal government agencies.  Tracks drugs from first use in clinical trials through full availability.  Some international coverage.  Searching by trade name or generic name.

Facts and Comparisons  (Rutgers restricted access)

Unbiased drug information on 22,000 prescribed medications, nearly 6,000 over-th-counter drugs as well as orphan and investigational drugs.  Includes simple and advanced searching with a comprehensive drug identification tool.

MedlinePlus: Drugs, Supplements and Herbal Information

Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.  Search using an alphabetical list.  Does not include drugs in clinical trials.

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database  (Rutgers restricted access)

Includes over 1,000 evidence-based, detailed monographs written by clinicians.  Allows basic and advanced searching.

Lab tests

Lab Tests Online

Developed by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry in collaboration with professional associations in laboratory science for patients and practitioners to understand lab tests used for diagnosis and treatment.  Each entry includes a list of the resources used by the author(s).

Patient education information

MedlinePlus

Current health information from federal government agencies and professional associations reviewed by physicians.  Search by keyword or by alphabetical index within format type (e.g., illustrated encyclopedia, dictionary, directories, news)

Life Sciences Librarian

Ann Vreeland Watkins's picture
Ann Vreeland Watkins
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library
185 University Ave
Newark, NJ 07102-1814
ann.watkins@rutgers.edu
(973) 353-3809

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.