Skip to main content

Rutgers Business School STEP Program: Dealing with References

This is a summer program for new business students.

Chicago 16th Edition Style Examples

Find a Chicago Sample Paper at the Purdue Online Writing Laboratory (Purdue OWL)

 

Bibliography and Footnote Examples

 

Chicago does footnotes and bibliographies slightly differently from each other.  Also note the different formats for different kinds of sources.

 

Book, Whole

Bibliography

 

Pollock, Alex J. Boom and Bust : Financial Cycles and Human Prosperity. Washington, D.C; Summit, PA: AEI Press, 2011.

Footnote


Alex J. Pollock, Boom and Bust : Financial Cycles and Human Prosperity (Washington, D.C; Summit, PA: AEI Press, 2011).

 

Book, Section

Bibliography

 

Butler, Jon. "Protestant Success in the New American City, 1870-1920 : The Anxious Secrets of Rev Walter Laidlaw, PhD." In New Directions in American     Religious History, 296-333. New York: Oxford Univ Pr, 1997.

Footnote


Jon Butler, "Protestant Success in the New American City, 1870-1920 : The Anxious Secrets of Rev Walter Laidlaw, PhD," in New Directions in American Religious History (New York: Oxford Univ Pr, 1997), 296-333.

Journal Article from an Online Database if DOI Provided  (This example from http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html.)

Bibliography

Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. doi:10.1086/599247.

Footnote


Gueorgi Kossinets and Duncan J. Watts, “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network,” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 411, accessed February 28, 2010, doi:10.1086/599247.

Journal Article from an Online Database If No DOI Available

Bibliography

McLearn, Mary, W. Corey Trench, and Al Fralinger. "Waste accounting for environmental performance at PSE&G." Corporate Environmental Strategy 5, no. 1  (September 1997): 49. Business Source Premier, EBSCOhost (accessed July 25, 2013).

Footnote

Mary McLearn, W. Corey Trench, and Al Fralinger, "Waste accounting for environmental performance at PSE&G," Corporate Environmental Strategy 5, no. 1 (September 1997): 49. Business Source Premier, EBSCOhost (accessed July 25, 2013).

Entry from an Online Reference Database


Bibliography

“Kathryn Markel Fine Arts Inc.” ReferenceUSA (Record ID 08561867).   [Obtain the Record ID from the end of the URL:  “recordid=08561867   .]

Footnote

“Kathryn Markel Fine Arts Inc,” ReferenceUSA (Record ID 08561867).

Map

Bibliography

 

Laidlaw, Walter and Welfare Council of New York City. Research Bureau. Trend of Population in Census Tracts of New York City, 1920-1930. New York: Welfare Council of New York City, 1933.

Footnote


Walter Laidlaw and Welfare Council of New York City. Research Bureau, Trend of Population in Census Tracts of New York City, 1920-1930 (New York: Welfare Council of New York City, 1933).

Report

Bibliography

 

Nishioka, Vicki, Michael Coe, Art Burke, Makota Hanita, and Jeffrey Sprague. Student-Reported Overt and Relational Aggression and Victimization in Grades 3-8. Issues & Answers. REL 2011-no. 114: Regional Educational Laboratory at Education Northwest. 101 SW Main Street Suite 500, Portland, OR 97204-3213. Tel: 503-275-9519; Fax: 503-275-0458; e-mail: products@nwrel.org; Web site: http://educationnorthwest.org, 2011.

Footnote


Vicki Nishioka et al., Student-Reported Overt and Relational Aggression and Victimization in Grades 3-8. Issues & Answers. REL 2011-no. 114Regional Educational Laboratory at Education Northwest. 101 SW Main Street Suite 500, Portland, OR 97204-3213. Tel: 503-275-9519; Fax: 503-275-0458; e-mail: products@nwrel.org; Web site: http://educationnorthwest.org,[2011]).

Web Page

Bibliography

 

Laidlaw, Walter. "The Moral Aims of the War Comprising a Series of Addresses Given at an all Day Interchurch Clerical Conference in the City of New York, April 4th, 1918." New York, Chicago etc. Fleming H. Revell Co, http://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/12773313.html.

Footnote


Walter Laidlaw, "The Moral Aims of the War Comprising a Series of Addresses Given at an all Day Interchurch Clerical Conference in the City of New York, April 4th, 1918," New York, Chicago etc. Fleming H. Revell Co, http://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/12773313.html.

Chicago 16th Footnote Examples

Use of Footnotes in Chicago Style

(From the Purdue Owl sample paper at http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/717/11/)

Chicago footnotes use Ibid. (abbreviation for the Latin, ibidem, "in the same place," http://www.thefreedictionary.com/ibid. ) as a shortcut way of handling multiple footnotes to the same source.  If only the page numbers are different, Ibid. is used with the page number.  Take a look at notes numbers 3 through 7.

If a source is used for the second time, but other sources appear in between, Chicago specifies a shortened version of the footnote.  Take a look at notes number 3 and number 8.

1. Jodi Dean, Democracy and Other Neoliberal Fantasies: Communicative Capitalism and Left Politics (Durham: Duke University Press, 2009), 30.

2. Michael Hardt and Antonio Negri, “Postmodernization, or the Informatization of Production,” in Empire (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2000), 299.

3. David Harvey, “Modernity and Modernism,” in The Condition of Postmodernity: An Enquiry into the Origins of Cultural Change (Malden, MA:   Blackwell, 1990), 12.

4. Ibid.

5. Ibid., 13.

6. Immanuel Kant, “An Answer to the Question: What is Enlightenment?” in Perpetual Peace and Other Essays, trans. Ted Humphrey (1784; repr., Indianapolis:   Hackett, 1983), 41.

7. Ibid., 44.

8. Harvey, The Condition of Postmodernity, 22.

Style Guides

The Learning APA guide from Myoung Wilson (Alexander Library) will help you with APA style.

Find out about constructing the List of Works Cited and more on the MLA Citation Page.

The Chicago Manual of Style has an online presence at http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html.  Book available at the Dana Reference Desk (Dana Ref Desk 270).

Additional style guides may be found on the Writing and Citation Formatting (Electronic Reference Sources) by Stephanie Bartz (Alexander Library).

Citation Managers