Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera (21:355:104): Multidisciplinary

Research material for an English 102 course on the novel

Catalog Quick Search

Search all Rutgers Libraries for books, videos, media, microforms, and other materials.

Library Catalog Quick Search
   

Basic Search
Advanced Search
Call Number Search
My Library Account
Reserves
Guide to Using the Library Catalog
This just in... New stuff in the Libraries

Catalog Searching

The online catalog of the Rutgers University Libraries gives students and faculty ready access to over 3 million print volumes in 25 Rutgers collections, plus multimedia and many full-text electronic journals. You may limit searches to DANA. Use the DELIVER/RECALL BOOK button to borrow books from other Rutgers libraries or use the ARTICLE DELIVERY  button to obtain articles that you cannot find at Dana or in electronic form.


Here are some sample searches:

Plato and symposium -- WORDS anywhere

 

Parmenides -- WORDS anywhere

 

Kundera Milan and criticism -- SUBJECT keyword (This search will retrieve books by Library of Congress subject heading.)


Nietzsche Friederich -- SUBJECT keyword (This search will retrieve books by Library of Congress subject heading.)


Descartes Rene -- SUBJECT keyword (This search will retrieve books by Library of Congress subject heading.)


Heraclitus of Ephesus -- SUBJECT keyword (This search will retrieve books by Library of Congress subject heading.)

 

Philosophy and Literature -- PERIODICAL TITLE begins with 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Alternative Search Engines

Want better-quality open websites?  Try a more selective search engine...

 

Infomine

Built by U.S. academic librarians for an academic audience, Infomine features a wealth of material, much of it free, that has been vetted for quality. Includes an online reference section as well as the search capability.

 

Also search your usual search engine for the following:

scholarly websites

scholarly search engines

 

Of course we suggest our own specialized search engines (Rutgers Indexes and Databases) for the very best journal articles and other scholarly resources--over 300 indexes and databases for your academic needs!  Some of the most useful for this class are included in this guide.