Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Focusing On: Tobias Wolff's The Barracks Thief: Finding Scholarly Articles

Actually looking for "popular press" articles?

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.

What makes something scholarly?

Unlike "popular" journal literature, which is written by journalists who cover events and people of interest to the general public or to the particular group that they represent, scholarly literature is written by people with expertise in a particular subject. These experts usually have academic credentials (advanced degrees in a particular area) and the articles are often published in "peer-reviewed" (reviewed by experts in the field) journals.

Indexes and Databases

Academic Search Complete
The basic multidisciplinary undergraduate database. Will output references in MLA format.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.

Looking for articles that focus on literature?

Literature Resource Center
A full-text database of literary resources including biographical material, essays, articles, and excerpts from larger works. Searchable by author, title, genre, literary movement, and theme. A good place to start your research!
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
Literature Online (LION)
In addition to the full text of over 350,000 English-language literary works, you can select "Criticism and Reference" to search over 300 full-text literature journals as well as citations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
MLA International Bibliography 1926-
The premier index to articles, books, and dissertations on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and film.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Looking for articles that focus on history?

America: History and Life 1964- .
The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.

Looking for articles that focus on psychology or sociology?

Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text is the basic index for finding articles in the social sciences. SSI indexes over 550 of the core, English language journals in social science disciplines including sociology and social work, public administration, political science, public welfare, and urban studies. It indexes many journals back to 1982 and, beginning with 1995, includes many full-text articles.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports.