Skip to main content
Private Company Research
An excellent resource for business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. The database currently includes profiles for over 900,000 companies, 20,000 private equity and venture capital firms and investors, and 100,000 private market deals.
A database of 15 million private and public companies in the United States, searchable by corporate name, location, and industry. Entries provide links to parents and subsidiaries.
ReferenceUSA, a database of millions of non-profit organizations and companies in the United States, searchable by name, location, and industry. (Rutgers-restricted Access) (Non-Rutgers users who are New Jersey residents can use ReferenceUSA via Jersey Clicks with a NJ public library card.)
You can also use the Nonprofit Organization Lookup provided by Melissa Data.
Many not-for-profit organizations are required to file an annual report with the IRS called Form 990. (See Which Forms Do Exempt Organizations File? from the IRS.) Some of the best sources of these 990 filings are:
Industry Overviews and Company Profiles
Contains reports on industries in the following markets: China, Global, and U.S. The Industry Reports are the main focus of the database. Each report contains an “at a glance” overview (including SWOT analysis), performance data, outlook data, products & markets analysis, competitive landscape analysis, lists of major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics.
Provides original industry, company, market analysis, and country reports and data based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. It includes: 3,500 industry profiles; market data on 150 consumer products in over 60 countries; 30,000 company profiles; and 2,500 company SWOT analyses
A database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. From the homepage, click the tab "Industry Analysis."
Business Source Premier
Covers most business and management topics and also includes profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies and reports for over two thousand industry sectors.
U.S. Census Business and the Economy
This topic area provides comprehensive information about the number, activity, characteristics, and locations of American businesses.
Serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact. The key statistics produced for the Economic Census include Total Number of Establishments; Sales, Value of Shipments, or Revenue; Primary Business Activity; Total Number of Employees; Total Annual Payroll; Total First Quarter Payroll; and industry specific statistics.The extensive and comprehensive data products include over 950 detailed industries across 18 industrial sectors classified using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
This site pulls up visualizations of publicly available data gathered from the Census Bureau, the Department of Labor, the Department of Commerce, and the Department of Education on the economy, demographics, health, education, and housing.