Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Media History: The Media on Media: Finding Scholarly Articles plus

Journal

Image of the Journalist in Popular Culture
An online peer-reviewed journal.

Bibliographies

Extensive bibliographies from the Media Resources Center at UC Berkeley.

Notable Directors and Stars
Journalists in the Movies
Edward R. Murrow

Can't Resist the Urge to Google?

Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports.

Databases

FIAF International FilmArchive Database
1972- . Index to over 300 international film periodicals, including academic journals and trade papers.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
A comprehensive bibliographic database covering all types of writing, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics for film and television. Includes full-text for more than 100 journals and 100 books, including Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present, as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive. Primary coverage 1990 to the present; selective coverage earlier.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access

MLA International Bibliography
1926- . The most comprehensive index to journal articles, books, dissertations, and other materials relating to literature, folkore, and film studies. Indexes more than 4400 journals.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Full-text coverage of more than 280 titles plus citation coverage for many more. Many major journals searchable back to early 1900s.
Image of the Journalist in Popular Culture Database
A project of The Norman Lear Center at USC Annenberg, it's mission "is to investigate and analyze, through research and publication, the conflicting images of the journalist in film, television, radio, fiction, commercials, cartoons, comic books, music, art, demonstrating their impact on the American public's perception of newsgatherers." Database includes almost 77,000 items.

History Indexes

America: History and Life
1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Abstracts
1955- . The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
Periodicals Index Online/Archive Online
Multidisciplinary index to over 5000 journals. Scope ranges from 1770 to 1995.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access