Skip to main content
Newspapers allow you to keep up with current issues and events. You can also use historical newspapers to find out how issues and events were reported during a specific time in history.
Union lists identify where runs of specific newspapers are physically held;
newspapers on microform may be requested on Interlibrary Loan.
Lists newspapers published in the U.S. by state, city, and title.
Indicates which libraries have microform holdings of those titles.
- Newspapers in Microform. United States. Washington : Library of Congress, 2 vols.
Dana Call Number: Ref. Z6951.U56a yr.1948/83
Chronological lists arranged by state city, and title. Some microfilm are heavily used onsite and are not available for interlibrary loan from the Library of Congress.
- Chronological Lists of U.S. Newspapers in Microform Available at the Library of Congress: 1940-1989
Lists newspapers by country, city, and title. Indicates which libraries have microform holdings of those titles.
- Newspapers in Microform. Foreign Countries. Washington : Library of Congress, 2 vols.
Dana Call Number: Ref. Z6945.U515a yr.1948/83
Database of more than 25,000 titles of non-U.S. newspapers (current
and restrospective) held by the Center for Research Libraries and other
- ICON Database of International Newspapers
Newspapers currently received and permanently retained on microfilm.
- Foreign Newspapers at the Library of Congress
Database of holdings information for newspapers (current and
retrospective) published in sub-Saharan Africa. Holdings currently only
reflect North American collections. Project administered by the Center
for Research Libraries.
- African Newspapers Union List (AFRINUL)
Newspapers held by the Slavic and East European Library at the
University of Illinois--one of the largest collections in North America.
- Slavic Newspaper Index
Getting the News
Many newspapers allow you to register and receive free access to at least a portion of that day's published articles.
The New York Times
The Washington Post
- Access World News
- Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes access to the Newark Star-Ledger back to 1989. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Westlaw Campus Research
- "News" portion indexes the full text of many major newspapers such as the Boston Globe, and the Atlanta Journal and Constitution. Rutgers-restricted Access
- A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles; now the only source for the last three years of the New York Times. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The three+ most recent years are not included; use Factiva to find more recent articles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Wall Street Journal
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Wall Street Journal between 1889 and 2000. Use Factiva to find current articles. Rutgers-restricted Access
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 2000. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Chicago Defender
- The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. Search and display the full text of articles published between 1910 and 1975. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Full text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press back to 1960. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
- Search or browse Mexican and Mexican American publications, primarily daily and weekly newspapers, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the present. A project of the University of Arizona.
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies