Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Social Work Research: African-Americans, Latinos, Immigrants

What's Here?

A selection of resources about the history, issues, characteristics, and policies relating to specific groups.

African-American, Hispanics/Latinos, Immigrants

African-Americans

Some relevant subject headings that you can use in the Catalog include:

Social Work with African Americans
African Americans History
Slavery Law and Legislation
African Americans Social Conditions
African Americans Civil Rights History
Discrimination in Employment United States History

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. New York, Macmillan, 1996. 5 vols plus Supplement (2001).
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas. 2nd edition. Detroit, Macmillan, 2006. 6 vols.
Signed entries covering all aspects of African-American history and life. While the 2d edition expands the scope of the work beyond North America, it has only a little more than half of the number of entries found in the first edition. Many of the U.S.-centered articles (for example, entries on states and major cities) are not available in the 2d edition. About half of the articles that appear in both have been updated in the 2d edition. Bibliographic references. Together, a good starting point for research.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 1996.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 2006. Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Murray, Charles A. Losing Ground: American Social Policy, 1950-1980. New York, Basic Books, 1984. Available?

Bane, Mary Jo. Race, Poverty and Public Policy. March 2005

Alston, Reginald J. "African Americans with Disabilities and the Social Security Administration's Return-to-Work Incentives," Journal of Disability Policy Studies 14(4), Spring 2004, 216-221.
Review of SSCI policies and the cultural variables specific to African Americans that may negate return-to-work incentives.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access

Quadagno, Jill. " Race and American Social Policy," National Forum 76(3), Summer 1996, 35-38.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access

Williams, David R. and Jackson, Pamela Braboy. "Social Sources of Racial Disparities in Health," Health Affairs 24(2), March/April 2005, 325-334.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Waites, Cheryl, ed. Social Work Practice with African-American Families: An Intergenerational Perspective. New York, Routledge, 2008. Available?

Hispanics/Latinos

Latino Encyclopedia. Richard and Rafael Chabran, editors. New York, Marshall Cavendish, 1996. 6 vols.
More than 1900 entries ranging from several paragraphs to signed full-length articles with annotated bibliographies relating to the Latino experience in the United States.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E184 .S75L57 1996.

Chicano Database
c. 1960- . Index to some 130 journals, as well as books, book chapters, popular magazines, and newspapers relating to Chicanos/Chicanas and Mexican Americans. From 1992 forward, includes records for material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access

Martinez-Ebers, Valerie et at. "Latino Interests in Education, Health, and Criminal Justice Policy," PS: Political Science and Politics 33(3), September 2000, 547-554.
Off-Campus Access Restricted Access

The Social Security Program and Reform: A Latino Perspective. June 2005
From the National Council of La Raza.

Canino-Arroyo, Maria Josefa. "Reflections on Latino Advocacy and Welfare Reform in New Jersey," Centro Journal 15(1), Spring 2003, 176-195.

Immigrants

To find books on immigrants in the United States search the Catalog. Some relevant subject headings include:

Social Work with Immigrants
Immigrants United States
Immigrants United States Social Conditions
United States Emigration and Immigration Government Policy

Encyclopedia of American Immigration. James Ciment, Immanuel Ness, editors. Armonk, N.Y., M.E. Sharpe, 2000. 4 vols.
Immigration history; immigration issues (causes, demographics, acculturation, laws and legislation, politics, economics, etc.); and immigration documents (laws, treaties, court cases, reports, etc.).Volumes 3 and 4 contain articles on specific immigrant groups in America.
Dana Call Number: Ref. JV6465.E53 2000

Padilla, Yolanda C. " Immigrant Policy: Issues for Social Work Practice," Social Work 42(6), November 1997, 595-606.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850 to 1990
22 Detailed tables.

Barry, Tom. Immigration Debate: Politics, Ideologies of Anti-Immigration Forces. June 17, 2005.
An Interhemispheric Resource Center (IRC) Americas Program Special Report.

Katz, Michael, Stern, Mark J., and Fader, Jamie J. " The Mexican Immigration Debate: The View From History," Social Science History 31(2), Summer 2007, 157-189.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Mexican Assimilation in the United States
Edward P. Lazear. March 2005.

Legislating Immigration

Executive Summary: U.S. Immigration: A Legislative History
"Highlights the history of U.S. immigration legislation and the parallel rise and fall in numbers and changing ethnic makeup." From the Population Resource Center.

S.2611: Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2006: Summary
Summary of the bill passed by the U.S. Senate on May 25, 2006.

2007 Enacted State Legislation Related to Immigrants and Immigration. August 6, 2007
"As of July 2, 2007, no fewer than 1404 pieces of legislation related to immigrants and immigration had been introduced among the 50 state legislatures. From January to July 2nd 2007, 170 bills became law in 41 states." From the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Summary of the Comprehensive Immigration Reform for America's Security and Prosperity Act of 2009 (CIR ASAP)
December 15, 2009

Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850 to 1990
22 Detailed tables.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.