Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Asians in the Americas: History Seminar 01:506:402:13: Primary Source Material

This is a research guides for Prof. Kathy Lopez's History Seminar: Asians in the Americas, Spring 2011.

The First Japanese Students at Rutgers

The Papers of William Elliot Griffis, a unique scholarly resource at Rutgers, Special Collections and University Archives, documents of the history of first Japanese students who came to the United States at the time of the Meiji Restauration (1868). The collection includes photos, manuscripts, and others items documenting the Japanese students at Rutgers, Including Kusakabe Taro, the first Japanese to become a Phi Beta Kappa, who died of Tuberculosis only weeks before commencement.  it also documents the experience Griffis, a Rutgers graduate, and other Westerners in Japan, from 1870 to 1874.

Contact Fernanda Perrone, curator of the collection, for access.((hperrone@rci.rutgers.edu and 732-932-7006 x363) 

Seabrook, New Jersey: a Japanese-American Resettlement Experience

Between 1944 and 1946, citizens of Japanese ancestry settled to work at Seabrook, New Jersey, at the farm and food processing plant owned by Charles F. Seabrook located 45 miles south of Philadelphia. These Japanese-Americans originally from the West Coast had been subjected to a series of security measures that culminated in forced removal from their homes into internment camps. When the U.S. Army rescinded its mass-exclusion order in 1944, the War Relocation Authority, the civilian agency created to care for the evacuees, relocated four generations of Japanese-Americans, approximately 2,500 people, to southern New Jersey. This group, the largest incoming ethnic group in the area at the time, came from camps in Arkansas, Arizona, and California. The community thrived until the late 1960s, but it declined as the younger generation left the farm to seek elsewhere educational and professional opportunities. Today. only a few people of Japanese ancestry remain in the area, but the Seabrook Educational and Cultural Center celebrate the community's heritage and contributions with a museum and a series of events during the year.

Many of the photos, publications and documents of the Japanese-Americans and other immigrant communities (Estonians, Germans, Russians, etc.) are digitally available through the New Jersey Digital Highway.

Twentieth-century Latin American Pamphlets

The Latin American Twentieth Century Pamphlet collection was a gift from Robert Jackson Alexander (1918-2010), Rutgers University faculty emeritus, who amassed a collection of over 6,000 pamphlets, including reports, documents etc. from the countries of Latin America. The pamphlets on Guyana include material on Cheddi Jagan (1918-1997), the Indo-Guyanese independence leader and President of Guyana, while he was the leader of the People's Progressive Party, a political party with socialist aspirations representing the Indo-Guyanese. Go here to search for the pamphlets titles in the collection.

The collection is a resource of Rutgers, Special Collections and University Archives, and is also available in microfilm at Alexander Library (call # 2920, reels 65-69), Current Periodicals Room, on the lowest level of Alexander Library. Contact Fernanda Perrone,  for access to original pamphlets.((hperrone@rci.rutgers.edu and 732-932-7006 x363).

Federation of Philippine Societies in New Jersey, Inc.

This is a new archival material collected by the Special Collections and University Archives. Learn more about the organization by clicking here. Contact Fernanda Perrone,  for access to original pamphlets.((hperrone@rci.rutgers.edu and 732-932-7006 x363).

Images and Video

ARTstor is a digital image library including photography of immigrant communities (Rutgers Libraries subscription). 

American History in Video is a database that provides a collection of of video available online for the study of American history.

Asian-Pacific  American Heritage Month. May is Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month – a celebration of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States.

Nineteen Century U.S. Newspapers is a full-text collection of American newspapers published between 1800 and 1900 in all regions of the country.

Yellow seeds was an Asian American anti-imperialist organization established in 1971 in Philadelphia that focused on Chinatown and national political issues.