Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Asians in the Americas: History Seminar 01:506:402:13: Books, Films & Databases

This is a research guides for Prof. Kathy Lopez's History Seminar: Asians in the Americas, Spring 2011.

Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog for all  books, videos,  microforms, and other materials at Rutgers Libraries. For media material go to Advanced Search and under "Format" choose "Visual Materials."

Library Catalog video tutorial.

Databases

America: History and Life  covers United States and Canadian history.

Historical Abstracts  Most comprehensive source of scholarship on the history of many nations.

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database.

Ethnic News Watch an interdisciplinary and bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index  contains citations to articles and other material published in journals in the United States and Latin America.

Sociological Abstracts indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

Digital Dissertations is a database of M.A. and Ph.D. dissertations published by universities in the U.S. and Canada. Most of Rutgers dissertations in the last few years provides full-text access.

Access World News a broad North American newspaper database that incorporates New Jersey newspapers and the Philadelphia Inquirer.

Westlaw Campus Research covers current newspaper articles. For historical newspaper articles, go to The New York Times Historical and Washington Post Historical.

Subject Headings of Interest

Asian Americans-- History

[Brazil] -- Ethnic Relations

[Chinese] Americans (inside bracket can be Korean, Filipino, East Indian, etc.) -- Race Relations

[Chinese] -- Indentured servants -- [Cuba]

Foreign Workers, [Brazilians] -- [Japan]

Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945

[Philippines] -- Emigration and Immigration (inside brackets can be other countries)

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.