Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Race and Racism in the U.S.: Government Documents

Uncle Sam

Index to Military Periodicals

Index to Military Periodicals
1988- .Index to articles, news items, and editorials published in English language military periodicals. Earlier years (1949- ) covered by the Air University Library Index to Military Periodical. Available?

FBI Files

FBI Electronic Reading Room [The Vault]. Digital documents from the files of the FBI. You can use the A-Z Index, or browse through categories of documents.

CRS Reports

Open CRS Open CRS provides access to Congressional Research Service Reports already in the public domain.

Compilaton

Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
Searchable collection of FBI files. Includes the COINTELPRO files, and files on Abbie Hoffman, the Black Panther Party, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Kent State, Malcolm X, Mississippi burning, Muslim Mosque, Inc., the Organization of Afro-American Unity, the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Rutgers-restricted Access

Basic Database

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (Monthly Catalog)
July 1976- .Records for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government, with links to those that are available online. Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

The easiest access to the Monthly Catalog prior to 1976 is to use the cumulative indexes:

    Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1900-1971.
    15 volumes. Dana Call Number: DOC REF. Z1223.A18 Suppl. 1900-1971

    Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Cumulative index, 1976-1980.
    6 volumes. Dana Call Number: DOC REF. Z1223 .A1812

Congressional Indexes

Congressional Publications
Historical and current Congressional information and legislative publications. Committee Prints, House & Senate Reports, House & Senate Documents, 1970-present; Hearings, 1824-2003, complete hearing - 2004-present, selected testimony transcripts and submitted statements, and in some cases, entire published hearings; Legislative Histories, 1969-present.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
A full-text database of key publications of the United States Congress. It documents the official activities of the committees of the House and the Senate, including the journals, reports, and documents.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
CIS US Congressional Committee Hearings Index
1800s to 1969. Pt. 7: 86th-88th Congresses, 1959-1964. Pt. 8: 89th-91st Congress, 1st Session, 1965-1969. Available?
CIS Index to Publications of the United States Congress.
1970-to the present. Available?

The Rutgers Alexander Library has a collection of unpublished House and Senate hearings on microfiche. These are indexed by:

    CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. House of Representatives Committee Hearings, 1833-1964. Alexander Call Number: DOCREF KF27.A2U6 1988 and supplement

    CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. Senate Committee Hearings, 1823-1976. Alexander Call Number: DOCREF KF40.C55 1986 and its supplement

    CIS Index to Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings, 93rd Congress-94th Congress, 1973-1976. Available?

Declassified Documents

Declassified Documents Reference System
Full-text database of documents that have been declassified by the U.S. government. Includes CIA, FBI, State Department, National Security Agency, and White House documents, among others. Largest coverage beginning after World War II, although some earlier documents are included.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access