Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Race and Racism in the U.S.: Getting the News

Newark Newspapers

Full-text access to the Newark Star-Ledger is available from 1989 to the present on Access World News (Restricted Access) and on Factiva (Restricted Access). The Dana Library has the Newark Star-Ledger on microfilm going back to 1980; microfilm reels back to August 1, 1945 are also available from the Rutgers Alexander Library in New Brunswick. The Newark Public Library also has the Star-Ledger in its entirely (1939 forward) as well as its predecessor, the Newark Star Eagle (1916-1939), available on microfilm.

While there is no complete printed or online index to the pre-1989 Star-Ledger, the New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library has the card file Cummings Index to the Star-Ledger from 1971 to 1996, as well as locally compiled Newark News Indexes, 1916-1970.  NPL's New Jersey Newspaper & Periodical Index currently includes the Cummings Index to the Star-Ledger from 1971 to about mid-1979, and will eventually include an index to the Newark Evening News Morgue. The Morgue clippings file, arranged by subject, is available on microfilm in the New Jersey Information Center. The Dana Library has the microfilm of the Newark portion of the Newark News clipping file in the NEWARK collection. (Those files which were labeled "Newark- ".)

Ethnic newspapers are a valuable source of information on the lives and concerns of immigrant and ethnic groups. The New Jersey Information Center in the Newark Public Library has a large collection of New Jersey Newspapers on Microfilm which includes a number of ethnic Newark newspapers.

U.S. Newspapers

Recent Articles

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Date range varies by newspaper; in many cases 15-20 year backfiles available. Rutgers-restricted Access

Historical Accounts

Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851.  Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 1993. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. Search and display the full text of articles published between 1910 and 1975. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Chronicling America: Search the Newspaper Pages
An ongoing project of the Library of Congress to digitize America's historical newspapers.

Television News

TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Index to material in the collection of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive. The database includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) and a daily news program from CNN. Abstracts of each story within a regular news program are fully searchable. Programs include:
  • ABC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present
  • CBS Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present
  • NBC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present

For a fee, the Archive will make copies and lend individuals DVDs of specific broadcasts. You can place an Interlibrary Loan Request for a program. However the Rutgers Libraries will only pay for the first $20 of the fee; the requestor would be responsible for the remaining amount.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Film & Video

American History in Video
Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access

Looking for News Photos?

DailyNewsPix: Photo Archive of the New York Daily News
Includes current photographs as well as historic images edited from more than six million prints and negatives in the Daily News library. The collection includes staff material dating back to the paper's founding in 1919, and other material dating back to 1880.

Getty Images: The New York Daily News
The Getty Daily News Photo Archive catalogs over 100,000 images that date back to 1919.

New York Times: Photographs: New York

New York Times Photo Archives. The Tumultuous Fifties: A View from the New York Times Photo Archives. New Haven, Yale University Press, 2001.

While articles in the Historical New York Times include photographs, some photographs may be omitted due to copyright issues. These photographs are available on the microfilm edition.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.